Huntress research shows AD RMS SLC root key is unrotatable and never expires, so its compromise permanently exposes all RMS-protected documents.
Part 2 of Huntress's AD RMS series details server-side attacks: extracting the Server Licensor Certificate (SLC) private key and performing offline decryption of protected documents. The SLC key has no expiry or rotation mechanism, with a 255-year certificate validity (2002–2258), so whoever recovers it can decrypt every document the deployment ever protected, indefinitely. The author released SharpRMS, a unified tool combining the 2016 DisARMS client-side attacks with new server-side key extraction and decryption capabilities. The research frames the SLC as comparable to KRBTGT and the DPAPI domain backup key, though not equivalent to domain compromise.
Microsoft's September 2026 Patch Tuesday fixes 974 vulnerabilities, including 113 critical and two actively exploited Windows privilege escalation flaws.
Microsoft's September 2026 Patch Tuesday fixes 974 vulnerabilities, its largest release ever, including 113 critical and 860 important, covering Windows HTTP.sys, Hyper-V, Entra ID, Exchange Server, Office, DNS, and more. Two zero-days are confirmed exploited in the wild: CVE-2026-81963 (Windows Update Stack EoP) and CVE-2026-85880 (ALPC heap overflow), both letting authenticated attackers gain SYSTEM privileges. Notable criticals include an Entra ID authentication bypass (CVE-2026-62916) and multiple Windows DNS Server and Office remote code execution flaws.
Microsoft's record September 2026 Patch Tuesday fixes 974 CVEs, including two exploited Windows privilege-escalation zero-days and 20 wormable bugs.
Microsoft's September 2026 Patch Tuesday fixes a record 974 CVEs, including two actively exploited zero-days: CVE-2026-85880, an ALPC heap buffer overflow, and CVE-2026-81963 in the Windows Update Stack, both CVSS 7.8 local privilege escalations. It also addresses an unauthenticated Exchange RCE (CVE-2026-55007) triggered by Visio attachment content indexing under memory pressure, an RDP use-after-free (CVE-2026-69525, CVSS 9.8), and 20 wormable flaws in DNS, DHCP, SMB, Active Directory, and other components. ZDI attributed the rising volume partly to AI-assisted vulnerability discovery, noting no corresponding spike in active exploits yet.
Microsoft's September Patch Tuesday fixed a record 974 flaws, including two Windows privilege-escalation zero-days actively exploited and added to CISA's KEV catalog.
Microsoft's September 2026 Patch Tuesday addressed a record 974 vulnerabilities (999 including 25 non-Microsoft CVEs), with over 110 rated critical; 723 affect Windows and 111 affect Office. Two Windows privilege-escalation zero-days are actively exploited: CVE-2026-85880, an ALPC heap-based buffer overflow, and CVE-2026-81963, an improper link resolution flaw in the Windows Update Stack, both allowing attackers to gain SYSTEM privileges. CISA added both flaws to its KEV catalog, giving federal civilian agencies until September 22, 2026 to apply fixes. Volexity, Proofpoint, MSTIC, and independent researchers were credited with the reports; notable additional fixes include network-reachable RCEs in Exchange, SharePoint, SQL Server, Remote Desktop Services, DNS, and DHCP.
Microsoft's September 2026 Patch Tuesday fixes a record 974 CVEs, including two Windows zero-days exploited in the wild for privilege escalation.
Microsoft patched 974 vulnerabilities, its largest Patch Tuesday ever, including CVE-2026-85880, a heap buffer overflow in Windows ALPC allowing AppContainer sandbox escape to System, and CVE-2026-81963, a link-following flaw in the Windows Update Stack enabling local privilege escalation. Both were exploited as zero-days before the patch. ZDI's Dustin Childs says 20 of the fixed flaws are wormable, enabling unauthenticated remote code execution. The release also covers 723 Windows flaws and 222 Office bugs, plus fixes in Exchange, SharePoint, SQL Server, Azure and Exchange Server RCE (CVE-2026-55007).
Canada's Cyber Centre relays Microsoft's September 2026 rollup; CISA added exploited zero-days CVE-2026-85880 and CVE-2026-81963 to KEV.
Advisory AV26-896 from the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security summarizes Microsoft's September 2026 monthly security rollup, listing affected products across Windows, Office, .NET, Azure, Exchange and SQL Server. It notes Microsoft confirmed CVE-2026-81963 and CVE-2026-85880 have been exploited. On September 8, 2026, CISA added both CVEs to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog, and administrators are urged to apply the updates.
ZDI's September 2026 Microsoft update review lists two already-exploited Windows EoP zero-days and dozens of critical RCEs across Office, SQL Server, and Windows services.
The review catalogs Microsoft's September 2026 fixes, marking CVE-2026-85880 (Windows ALPC) and CVE-2026-81963 (Windows Update Stack) as already exploited elevation-of-privilege issues. It also lists critical RCE flaws in Office, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, SQL Server, Windows DNS, DHCP and Failover Cluster, plus graphics component RCEs. Azure-side fixes include Entra ID, Copilot Studio, Azure AI Language and Azure AD B2C elevation-of-privilege flaws.
Microsoft's September 2026 Patch Tuesday fixes 974 vulnerabilities across Windows and Office, including two actively exploited Windows privilege-escalation zero-days.
Microsoft's September 2026 Patch Tuesday addresses 974 vulnerabilities spanning Windows, Office, SQL Server, SharePoint, Exchange, Azure, and developer tools. Two Windows zero-days are confirmed exploited in attacks: CVE-2026-85880, a Windows ALPC elevation-of-privilege flaw, and CVE-2026-81963, a Windows Update Stack privilege-escalation flaw involving link following. The release also includes Critical fixes for Windows Secure Kernel Mode, VBS Enclave, Excel, and Word.
Heap-Based Buffer Overflow in Windows ALPC Enables Local Privilege Escalation
CVE-2026-85880 is a heap-based buffer overflow in Windows Advanced Local Procedure Call (ALPC), the Windows mechanism for local inter-process communication. An authorized local attacker can trigger the overflow by submitting crafted input over ALPC, corrupting heap memory in the component that handles the request. Successful exploitation allows the attacker to execute code with elevated privileges, typically gaining SYSTEM-level control of the local host, which is especially valuable as a post-exploitation or sandbox-escape step. Affected products include Windows 10 (1607, 1809, 21H2, 22H2) and Windows Server 2012, 2016, 2019, and 2022, meaning most on-premises Windows estates are in scope. The flaw was fixed in Microsoft's record 974-CVE September 2026 Patch Tuesday and was added to CISA's KEV on 2026-09-08, confirming exploitation in the wild; press reports describe Windows zero-days being chained with a Chrome zero-day in 'BlueMoon' kit attacks, though the data does not explicitly confirm this CVE is the Windows flaw in that chain.
· Microsoft Windows 10 1607, 1809, 21H2, 22H2 · Microsoft Windows Server 2012, 2016, 2019, 2022 KEVmass
Local Privilege Escalation via Link Following in Windows Update Stack
CVE-2026-81963 is a link-following flaw (CWE-59, improper link resolution before file access) in the Microsoft Windows Update Stack, in which the component fails to correctly resolve file links before opening them. A local attacker with low privileges can plant or manipulate a link (symlink/junction) that the privileged update stack follows during operation, redirecting its file access to an attacker-controlled target. The result is local privilege escalation — CVSS 3.1 rates this 7.8 (high) with high confidentiality, integrity, and availability impact — allowing an authorized local user or malware already on the machine to gain elevated rights. Affected products are Windows 11 23H2, 24H2, 25H2, and 26H1 and Windows Server 2025; any unpatched system on those versions is exposed to any local account holder. The flaw was fixed in Microsoft's record September 2026 Patch Tuesday (974 CVEs), was added to CISA's KEV on 2026-09-08 as one of two Windows zero-days reported as exploited in the wild, and has no known public PoC or confirmed ransomware use.
· Microsoft Windows 11 23H2, 24H2, 25H2, 26H1 · Microsoft Windows Server 2025 KEVmass
Use-After-Free RCE in Windows Remote Desktop Services
CVE-2026-69525 is a use-after-free memory corruption flaw (CWE-416) in Windows Remote Desktop Services, rated critical at CVSS 9.8. Per the CVSS vector, a remote, unauthenticated attacker can reach the vulnerable code path over the network with no privileges and no user interaction, presumably by sending crafted input to the RDP/RDS service. Successful exploitation yields remote code execution with high impact on confidentiality, integrity, and availability. Any Windows system running Remote Desktop Services is affected, and organizations exposing RDP (TCP 3389) to the internet are the primary concern, since public scans show millions of such endpoints. There is no public proof-of-concept or CISA KEV listing yet, and EPSS estimates a ~1.1% (63rd percentile) chance of exploitation within 30 days; the fix shipped as part of Microsoft's record 974-CVE Patch Tuesday, which separately included two exploited Windows zero-days and 20 wormable bugs.
CVE-2026-69730 is a use-after-free memory corruption flaw (CWE-416) in the Windows DNS service that allows an unauthenticated, remote attacker to execute arbitrary code by sending crafted network traffic to the affected system. Because the flaw is network-exploitable with no privileges or user interaction required (CVSS 3.1 9.8), any system running the vulnerable DNS service is a direct target. Successful exploitation would give the attacker code execution in the context of the DNS service, which on Windows Server typically runs with high privileges such as SYSTEM, and could enable wormable spread between vulnerable hosts. Affected organizations are those running the Windows DNS Server role — a component deployed on virtually all Windows Server domain controllers and on dedicated Windows DNS servers, especially those exposed to untrusted networks. As of the September 2026 Patch Tuesday release, there is no known public proof-of-concept, the flaw is not listed in CISA's KEV, and it has not been confirmed exploited in the wild, though it was flagged among roughly 20 'wormable' bugs and described in press coverage as a successor to the 2020 SigRed Windows DNS RCE.
· Microsoft Windows DNS Server role (Windows Server)mass
Injection Flaw in Microsoft SQL Server Enables Network Privilege Escalation
Microsoft SQL Server contains an injection vulnerability (CWE-74) in which special elements in output used by a downstream component are not properly neutralized. An unauthorized attacker can trigger the flaw remotely over a network, though the CVSS vector indicates that some form of user interaction is required in the attack path. Successful exploitation allows elevation of privileges with high impact on confidentiality, integrity, and availability, and the changed-scope metric suggests the attack crosses a security boundary into another component. Any organization running affected Microsoft SQL Server versions is potentially exposed, although the data provided does not specify exact affected version ranges. No public proof of concept, CISA KEV listing, or known exploitation exists; EPSS estimates only a 0.7% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days, and the fix shipped with Microsoft's record-setting September 2026 Patch Tuesday release (974 flaws patched).
Double Free Enables Unauthenticated RCE in Microsoft Exchange Server
CVE-2026-55007 is a double-free memory corruption flaw (CWE-415) in Microsoft Exchange Server in which the same heap allocation is freed twice, corrupting memory. A remote, unauthenticated attacker can trigger the flaw over the network, though the high attack complexity (AC:H) means reliable exploitation likely depends on favorable heap/timing conditions, making it harder to weaponize than typical pre-auth RCEs. Successful exploitation yields arbitrary code execution with high impact on confidentiality, integrity, and availability (CVSS 3.1: 8.1). Any organization running on-premises Microsoft Exchange Server is in scope, with the greatest risk on servers reachable from untrusted networks. As of now there is no public proof-of-concept, the flaw is not in CISA's KEV catalog, and EPSS estimates only a 0.7% chance of exploitation within 30 days; it was disclosed amid Microsoft's record September 2026 Patch Tuesday (974 CVEs), which press coverage highlighted for notable Exchange flaws.
Heap Buffer Overflow in Microsoft Excel Allows Local Code Execution (CVE-2026-81959)
CVE-2026-81959 is a heap-based buffer overflow (CWE-122) in Microsoft Office Excel, with an associated integer overflow/wraparound (CWE-190) that Microsoft notes as part of the flaw. Because the attack vector is local and requires user interaction, exploitation requires a user to open a specially crafted spreadsheet file in an affected Excel or Office installation, for example one delivered via email or downloaded from an untrusted source. Successful exploitation allows an unauthorized attacker to execute arbitrary code in the context of the current user, with high impact on confidentiality, integrity, and availability on the victim machine. Anyone running Excel in Microsoft 365 Apps or perpetual Office 2016, 2019, 2021, or 2024 is affected. The flaw was addressed in Microsoft's September 2026 Patch Tuesday (a release covering 974 vulnerabilities); it is not in CISA KEV, no public proof-of-concept is known, and EPSS puts 30-day exploitation probability at just 0.4%, so no confirmed in-the-wild exploitation is known.
Missing Authorization in Microsoft Entra ID Enables Privilege Escalation
CVE-2026-83941 is a missing-authorization flaw (CWE-862) in Microsoft Entra ID, the cloud identity service behind Microsoft 365 and Azure. An already-authenticated, low-privileged user can send a network request to an Entra ID endpoint that fails to enforce proper authorization checks, requiring no user interaction. Exploitation lets the attacker elevate their privileges within the directory, with high confidentiality and integrity impact (CVSS 9.9, scope changed). Any organization that uses Microsoft Entra ID is in the affected population. The flaw was patched in Microsoft's September 2026 Patch Tuesday release; it is not in CISA KEV, has no known public proof-of-concept, and carries a low EPSS of roughly 0.7%.
Missing Authorization Allows Authenticated RCE in Microsoft SharePoint Server
CVE-2026-69465 is a missing authorization flaw (CWE-862) in Microsoft Office SharePoint, specifically SharePoint Server. An attacker who already holds valid, low-privileged credentials can send a crafted network request to the server, and because the application fails to properly verify permissions, the request results in arbitrary code execution. Successful exploitation gives the attacker code execution on the server with high impact on confidentiality, integrity, and availability (CVSS 3.1: 8.8 High), with no user interaction required. Organizations running on-premises SharePoint Server are affected; the specific version ranges are not stated in the available data. There is currently no known in-the-wild exploitation, no public proof-of-concept, and the flaw is not listed in CISA KEV, with EPSS estimating a 0.8% chance of exploitation within 30 days.
Heap-based Buffer Overflow in Microsoft Excel Enables Local Code Execution
CVE-2026-81951 is a heap-based buffer overflow (CWE-122) in Microsoft Excel, the spreadsheet component of Microsoft Office and Microsoft 365. Per the CVSS vector (AV:L with UI:R and no privileges required), exploitation requires user interaction, most plausibly a user opening a crafted spreadsheet, rather than any network-reachable service. Successful exploitation lets an unauthorized attacker execute arbitrary code locally, with the CVSS scoring high impact on confidentiality, integrity, and availability. All supported Excel-bearing releases are affected: Microsoft 365 Apps/Microsoft 365, Office 2016, Office 2019, Office 2021, and Office 2024. No public proof of concept is known, the flaw is not in CISA's KEV, and EPSS estimates only a ~0.4% chance of exploitation within 30 days, indicating no known in-the-wild exploitation as of the September 2026 Patch Tuesday that shipped the fix.
Entities are extracted by the model from each article. Watching an entity keeps it in this browser only (no account); the watchlist page and dashboard alerts use it.