ZeroHour
Story · 1 source · 1 articlefirst updated ()1

CISA adds actively exploited Windows IKE RCE CVE-2026-33824 to KEV; ZDI publishes exploitation analysis

What's new: First merged summary for this story. New KEV batch: CISA added four actively exploited vulnerabilities (CVE-2026-33824, CVE-2026-55040, CVE-2026-59310, CVE-2026-65400) dated August 18, 2026, confirming in-the-wild exploitation of the Windows IKE RCE. New technical disclosure: ZDI published detailed exploitation analysis and IDS detection guidance for CVE-2026-33824 on September 7, 2026. Source…
Merged summary · glm-5.3-flash · rewritten as coverage arrives

CVE-2026-33824, a double-free in the Windows IKE service (ikeext.dll) enabling unauthenticated remote code execution as SYSTEM, is being actively exploited in the wild and was added to CISA's KEV catalog alongside three other exploited flaws; Zero Day…

Zero Day Initiative published technical analysis of CVE-2026-33824, a double-free in the Windows IKE Extension (ikeext.dll) caused by improper ownership handling of a heap blob pointer during IKEv2 fragment reassembly in IkeReinjectReassembledPacket(). The double-free arises from aliased blob pointers between the MMSA structure and queued work items. A remote unauthenticated attacker can trigger it by sending an IKE_SA_INIT message with the Microsoft Security Realm Vendor ID followed by two or more Encrypted Fragment (SKF) payloads carrying an invalid IKE_AUTH message; successful exploitation yields arbitrary code execution in the IKEEXT service context (SYSTEM). ZDI also provided IDS detection guidance correlating the two-packet sequence on UDP ports 500 and 4500. Separately, CISA added four actively exploited vulnerabilities to its KEV catalog in a batch reported as dated August 18, 2026, headlined by CVE-2026-33824 in Windows IKE Service Extensions (KEV listing confirms observed exploitation in the wild). The other three entries are CVE-2026-55040 in on-premises Microsoft SharePoint Server, CVE-2026-59310 in Broadcom VMware vCenter, and CVE-2026-65400 in Apple macOS Screen Sharing. Note: sources use slightly different naming for the affected component — 'Windows IKE Service Extensions' in CISA's KEV entry versus 'Windows IKE Extension (ikeext.dll)' in ZDI's analysis — referring to the same Windows IKE/IKEEXT component. The KEV addition is dated August 18, 2026, while the news coverage appeared September 7-8, 2026.

  • CVE-2026-33824 is a double-free in the Windows IKE Extension (ikeext.dll), described by CISA as affecting Windows IKE Service Extensions
  • Root cause: improper ownership handling of a heap blob pointer during IKEv2 fragment reassembly in IkeReinjectReassembledPacket(), with aliased blob pointers between the MMSA structure and queued work items
  • Attack chain: IKE_SA_INIT with the Microsoft Security Realm Vendor ID, then two or more Encrypted Fragment (SKF) payloads with an invalid IKE_AUTH message
  • Impact: remote, unauthenticated arbitrary code execution in the IKEEXT service context (SYSTEM)
  • Detection: ZDI guidance correlates the two-packet sequence on UDP ports 500 and 4500
  • CISA's KEV addition, dated August 18, 2026, includes four CVEs: CVE-2026-33824 (Windows IKE Service Extensions), CVE-2026-55040 (on-premises Microsoft SharePoint Server), CVE-2026-59310 (Broadcom VMware vCenter), and CVE-2026-65400 (Apple…
  • KEV listing confirms CVE-2026-33824 is observed exploited in the wild; three of the four affected products are frequently deployed as high-value enterprise infrastructure (remote-access endpoints and collaboration platforms)
  • No exploit code is included in the source reports; no patched/fixed version numbers are stated in the sources

Coverage timeline

  1. · 9d ago
    Web discovery (articles for new exploits & KEV entries)· 65
    Zero Day Initiative — CVE-2026-33824: Remote Code Execution in Windows ...

    ZDI details CVE-2026-33824, a double-free in Windows IKEv2 fragment reassembly enabling unauthenticated remote code execution as SYSTEM on Windows.

Vulnerabilities in this storyAll →

CVEVulnerabilityCVSSEPSSFlagsAffectedExposurePublished
CVE-2026-33824
Unauthenticated Double-Free RCE in Microsoft Windows IKE Extension

A double-free memory-corruption flaw (CWE-415) in the Microsoft Windows Internet Key Exchange (IKE) service extension allows a remote, unauthenticated attacker to trigger the bug with crafted network traffic, with no privileges or user interaction required. Successful exploitation yields remote code execution with full system impact, reflected in the critical 9.8 CVSS score (high confidentiality, integrity, and availability). The vulnerable IKE component is present in Windows 10 (1607, 1809, 21H2, 22H2), Windows 11 (23H2, 24H2, 25H2, 26H1), and Windows Server 2016, 2019, and 2022 (including 23H2), which ship it as a built-in feature. CISA added the flaw to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18, and security reporting confirms it is being actively exploited in the wild, though ransomware use is not yet confirmed. No public proof-of-concept is known, but the high EPSS score (72.7%, 99th percentile) signals a very strong likelihood of imminent or ongoing exploitation.

Do: Apply Microsoft's security updates for CVE-2026-33824 to all affected Windows 10, Windows 11, and Windows Server releases, prioritizing internet-exposed systems where IKE/VPN is reachable (UDP 500/4500), per BOD 26-04 requirements. Organizations unable to patch promptly should restrict or discontinue use of exposed IKE/VPN services on affected hosts until updated. Triage VPN endpoints and remote-access servers for crashes or suspicious IKE traffic given confirmed in-the-wild exploitation.

9.873% KEV
  • Microsoft Windows 10 1607
  • Microsoft Windows 10 1809
  • Microsoft Windows 10 21H2
  • +9 more
masswell over 1B Windows devices include the built-in IKE extension; internet-exposed VPN/IKE endpoints plausibly number in the hundreds of thousands
CVE-2026-55040
Authentication Bypass in Microsoft SharePoint Server

Microsoft SharePoint Server is affected by a weak authentication vulnerability (CWE-1390) that allows an unauthorized attacker to bypass a security feature over a network. Per the CVSS vector, exploitation requires no privileges and no user interaction with low attack complexity, so any unauthenticated attacker with network access to a vulnerable server can trigger it remotely. Impact to confidentiality and integrity is rated high (CVSS 9.1, critical), meaning the bypass effectively grants the attacker access that authentication should have prevented, with no direct availability impact. All organizations running on-premises Microsoft SharePoint Server are potentially affected; the source data does not specify affected version ranges or fixed builds, so defenders should consult Microsoft's advisory for those details. The flaw is under active exploitation: a public proof-of-concept is available on GitHub, attackers began exploiting it after the PoC went public, and CISA added it to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18 (EPSS ~40%, 99th percentile; ransomware association unknown).

Do: Apply Microsoft's security update for CVE-2026-55040 immediately, prioritizing internet-facing SharePoint servers, and comply with CISA BOD 26-04 and the agency's Forensics Triage Requirements, including checking for signs of prior compromise on SharePoint servers. Use the public GitHub proof-of-concept to validate patching and detection coverage, and restrict network exposure of SharePoint until all servers are updated.

9.151% KEV PoC ×2
  • Microsoft SharePoint Server
mass≈tens of thousands of internet-exposed SharePoint Server instances, within an installed base spanning hundreds of thousands of enterprise and government…
CVE-2026-59310
Unauthenticated Path Traversal RCE in Broadcom VMware vCenter Server Syslog

CVE-2026-59310 is a directory traversal (CWE-22) vulnerability in the Syslog server component of VMware vCenter Server, rated critical at CVSS 9.8. It can be triggered over the network without authentication or user interaction, allowing a malicious actor with network access to vCenter to achieve arbitrary code execution. An attacker who exploits it gains code execution on the vCenter appliance, and reported campaigns show it has been used to establish persistent remote access and, by a suspected China-nexus actor, to deploy Babuk ransomware. Any organization running an affected version of vCenter Server is exposed, especially where the management interface is reachable from the internet; the available data does not specify affected version ranges. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: CISA added the flaw to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18, it was reportedly exploited just five days after disclosure, and EPSS estimates a 45.9% probability of exploitation within 30 days (99th percentile).

Do: Upgrade vCenter Server to the patched release identified in Broadcom's advisory (no specific version ranges are provided in this data) and prioritize any vCenter that is internet-facing, in line with CISA KEV and BOD 26-04 requirements for federal agencies. Until patched, restrict access to the vCenter management interface to trusted networks and verify whether the vCenter Syslog server is enabled. Hunt for compromise indicators, including unexplained remote-access persistence and Babuk ransomware artifacts, given the documented China-nexus exploitation.

9.846% KEV ransomware
  • Broadcom (VMware) vCenter Server
largeApproximately 50,000-100,000 internet-exposed vCenter Server instances, with total deployments (including internal-only) likely in the hundreds of thousands
CVE-2026-65400
Authentication Bypass in Apple macOS Screen Sharing

CVE-2026-65400 is a critical (CVSS 9.8) improper authentication flaw (CWE-287) in Apple macOS's Screen Sharing service, caused by an authentication state-management defect. An attacker who can reach a vulnerable Mac's Screen Sharing service over the network can authenticate without valid credentials, gaining full remote access with high impact to confidentiality, integrity, and availability. All three currently supported macOS branches are affected: Sequoia, Sonoma, and Tahoe, in versions prior to the fixed releases. The flaw is being actively exploited on the internet, with public reporting that attackers use the bypass to deploy Monero cryptominers, and CISA added it to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18. EPSS estimates a 9.9% probability of exploitation within 30 days (95th percentile).

Do: Upgrade to macOS Sequoia 15.7.9, macOS Sonoma 14.8.9, or macOS Tahoe 26.6.1 (or later) immediately; patching is mandatory for federal agencies under CISA BOD 26-04 given the KEV listing. As an interim mitigation, disable Screen Sharing or restrict it via firewall/VPN so VNC (port 5900) is not reachable from the internet. Review internet-exposed Macs for signs of compromise, especially unexplained Monero miner processes or abnormal CPU usage.

9.810% KEV
  • Apple macOS (Screen Sharing service) supported macOS releases prior to the fixed builds listed below
  • Apple macOS Sequoia all versions prior to 15.7.9
  • Apple macOS Sonoma all versions prior to 14.8.9
  • +1 more
masson the order of 100M+ Macs run affected macOS versions; the directly exploitable subset is Macs with Screen Sharing enabled and internet-reachable