CISA warns CVE-2026-9633 in Rockwell Automation Redundancy Module Configuration Tool lets attackers execute processes with administrator privileges; fix in 10.01.00.
CISA released an ICS advisory for Rockwell Automation Redundancy Module Configuration Tool. CVE-2026-9633 could allow an attacker to escalate privileges and execute processes with administrator rights. Versions 9.00.00 through 10.00.00 are affected, and the vendor shipped a fix in version 10.01.00.
CISA warns CVE-2025-12768 and CVE-2026-12661 in Rockwell Historian ME could crash devices or allow remote code execution via out-of-bounds writes; CVSS 8.
CISA issued an ICS advisory for Rockwell Automation Historian ME Series B 5.202 and Series C 7.101. CVE-2025-12768 and CVE-2026-12661 involve out-of-bounds write and stack-based buffer overflow flaws that could crash the accessed device or enable remote code execution. The product is deployed across chemical, critical manufacturing, healthcare, and water and wastewater sectors worldwide.
CISA details CVE-2026-16675, a CVSS 7.8 privilege escalation flaw in Rockwell FactoryTalk Activation Manager V5.02 and below, with vendor fixes available.
CISA issued an ICS advisory for Rockwell Automation FactoryTalk Activation Manager. CVE-2026-16675 is a privilege escalation vulnerability stemming from installer custom actions, scored 7.8. Versions V5.02 and below are affected, and Rockwell Automation has released fixes.
CISA advisory maps CVE-2021-42260 to Rockwell ControlLogix, CompactLogix, and GuardLogix controllers with firmware below per-series patch levels.
CISA published an ICS advisory associating CVE-2021-42260 with multiple Rockwell Automation controller families: ControlLogix 5580, GuardLogix 5580, CompactLogix 5380, CompactLogix 5480, and Compact GuardLogix 5380. Affected firmware versions fall below 34.015, 35.014, 36.013, and 37.011 depending on the series. The vendor provides updated firmware as remediation.
CISA added two actively exploited PaperCut NG/MF pre-auth flaws to the KEV catalog; federal agencies must patch by September 14.
CISA added CVE-2026-81578 (CVSS 8.8, missing authentication for critical function) and CVE-2026-82078 (CVSS 9.4, unsafe reflection) in PaperCut NG/MF to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog. Huntress confirmed active pre-authentication RCE exploitation in two customer environments and reproduced the full chain against a clean PaperCut NG 25.0.11 server, chaining the auth bypass into unsafe Java class loading for SYSTEM-level execution. About 47% of roughly 2,500 tracked PaperCut installs still run version 23 or earlier with no patch available, and observed attacker activity was limited to system discovery commands.
CISA's FY2024-2025 vulnerability review urges eliminating recurring vulnerability classes, finding 41.5% of 2025 KEV entries map to persistent 'stubborn weaknesses'.
CISA's Vulnerability Review for fiscal years 2024 and 2025 found most compromises stemmed from opportunistic exploitation of known, exposed vulnerabilities rather than nation-state zero-days or advanced tradecraft. The review found 41.5% of 2025 KEV catalog entries map to 'stubborn weaknesses' - injection flaws, improper input validation, memory-safety failures, path traversal and broken access control - recurring on the CWE Top 25 since 2019. CISA advocates Secure by Design practices, vulnerability class elimination, and buyer-driven 'Secure by Demand' contract requirements, while warning that AI-enabled vulnerability discovery will soon accelerate exploitation.
CISA added actively exploited PaperCut MF/NG flaws CVE-2026-81578 and CVE-2026-82078 to KEV; Canada's Cyber Centre urges Emergency Patch Release 2 for v24-v26.
Canada's Cyber Centre updated security advisory AV26-858, noting PaperCut MF and PaperCut NG versions prior to the v24, v25, and v26 Emergency Patch Release 2 are affected by CVE-2026-81578 and CVE-2026-82078. Open-source reporting indicates both vulnerabilities are being exploited in the wild. In Update 2 (August 31, 2026), CISA added both CVEs to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog, and the Cyber Centre urges administrators to apply the emergency patches immediately.
CISA added actively exploited PaperCut NG/MF flaws CVE-2026-81578 and CVE-2026-82078 to the KEV catalog, mandating federal patching.
CISA added two vulnerabilities to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog based on evidence of active exploitation: CVE-2026-81578 (PaperCut NG/MF missing authentication for critical function) and CVE-2026-82078 (PaperCut NG/MF unsafe reflection). Under Binding Operational Directive 26-04, Federal Civilian Executive Branch agencies are required to prioritize and apply these updates. The KEV listing signals observed exploitation of the PaperCut print management platform.
Op-ed argues the AI Kill Switch Act repeats the Clipper Chip's mistake by mandating backdoors into frontier AI systems.
The op-ed criticizes the AI Kill Switch Act, sponsored by Reps. Ted Lieu and Nathaniel Moran, which would let CISA require frontier AI labs to build the ability to throttle, suspend, or shut down their systems. The author compares this to the 1993 Clipper Chip, whose Law Enforcement Access Field was found flawed in 1994, and argues mandated kill switches would create deliberate weaknesses in AI agents embedded in banking, power grids and other critical infrastructure. It also flags the bill's exemption of red-teaming incidents and CAISI's incomplete agent security standards, recommending mandatory red-teaming and liability frameworks instead.
Contrast Security report finds 42 confirmed exploit attempts per application monthly and three AI scanners agreeing on only 5% of findings.
Contrast Security's AppSec Overflow 2026 report, drawing on telemetry from hundreds of thousands of production applications and APIs, found adversaries touch the average application every four minutes with 42 confirmed viable exploit attempts per application monthly, led by untrusted deserialization, path traversal, and method tampering. Legacy flaws Log4Shell and Spring4Shell remain widespread, mean time to exploit fell from over two years in 2018 to under three weeks for most 2025 exploited vulnerabilities, and average critical fix time is 92 days. Three AI scanners set on the same codebase agreed on only 5% of findings, and triaging a 2-million-line codebase scan cost roughly $128,000 versus $315 in API charges. Among exploited CVEs in the dataset, 82% of KEV-listed entries carried EPSS scores of 90% or higher, while CVE-2006-1547 and CVE-2023-38180 were confirmed exploited despite EPSS scores under 25%.
Help Net Security's weekly digest highlights 274 compromised Zimbra servers, Gitea and Citrix NetScaler KEV additions, a PaperCut zero-day, and a suspected Iran-linked power plant attack.
The roundup reports at least 274 internet-facing Zimbra instances compromised via CVE-2026-73570, critical Gitea CVE-2026-60004 added to CISA's KEV catalog after exploitation began, and previously patched Citrix NetScaler flaw CVE-2026-8452 exploited in the wild. It also covers PaperCut NG/MF zero-day attacks, a suspected Iran-linked shutdown of a UK power plant, an FBI seizure of domains tied to a China-linked group that hit NASA, DOJ and the Senate, a cyberattack disrupting Boston Scientific, and the Manchester Airports Group breach. Additional items include Chameleon SEO poisoning phishing, Android car head unit proxy botnet malware, ReliaQuest social engineering by ShinyHunters, fake OpenAI Codex macOS malware, and AI-related workforce and supply chain interviews.
Rhysida ransomware hit Berlin's state government weeks before the September 20 election, claiming 5.79 TB stolen; officials refused the ransom.
Berlin's government confirmed an August cyberattack on its administrative network, with data exfiltrated between August 7 and August 12 and departments isolated on August 17. The Rhysida group claimed responsibility on August 28, alleging theft of 5.79 TB and 1.44 million files including personal data on 12,076 individuals, payroll files, plaintext credentials, and vulnerability analyses of Berlin's water supply. Officials said election systems were not affected and refused to pay; Rhysida has claimed roughly 280 victims since 2023, entering via VPNs without MFA, Zerologon, or phishing.
Berlin refuses ransom demands after Rhysida claimed stealing 5.79 TB from the city-state network, including mobility department data on 12,076 individuals.
Berlin's state government confirmed an extortion attempt following the August compromise of its state administrative network and said it will not pay. Forensics found data exfiltrated from the Senate Department for Mobility, Transport, Climate Protection and Environment between August 7 and 12, 2026; Rhysida's leak site claims 5.79 TB, 1.44 million files, and personal data on 12,076 individuals. State criminal police, prosecutors, and federal authorities are investigating, and officials say the September 20 Abgeordnetenhaus election environment remains unaffected. Separately, Manchester Airports Group confirmed theft of customer data including emails, phone numbers, and vehicle registrations across three airports.
PaperCut warns of active exploitation of CVE-2026-82078 and CVE-2026-81578 in NG/MF print management software used by universities, corporations, and governments.
PaperCut issued an emergency advisory saying vulnerabilities in PaperCut NG and MF, tracked as CVE-2026-82078 and CVE-2026-81578 with severity scores above 8.8, are under active exploitation with confirmed customer incidents. Huntress reported at least two customers impacted, and an initial patch was revised with input from Huntress and watchTowr researchers. PaperCut software is widely deployed at universities, corporations, and governments managing printers from Canon, Epson, Xerox, and Brother, and the vendor urged removing server web interfaces from the public internet. Previous PaperCut flaws were used by ransomware gangs like Bl00dy and Clop, and CISA has warned the education sector is particularly exposed.
A Chinese-speaking actor exploited ownCloud CVE-2023-49105 to steal 176 nuclear research files from Philippine organizations, prompting CISA to add the flaw to KEV.
CISA added CVE-2023-49105 (CVSS 9.8), an ownCloud WebDAV API authentication bypass fixed in version 10.13.1, to the KEV catalog after Hunt.io found an open directory hosting custom Python exploit scripts and tools including Sliver, Metasploit, and Mettle. The actor downloaded 176 files (~372 MB) from a Philippine nuclear research body, including nuclear-material account records, 2023-2028 strategic plans, BitLocker keys, and a KeePass database; a second intrusion exploited LiteSpeed Cache CVE-2024-28000 at a shipbuilding firm serving the Philippine Navy, with XML-RPC brute-force and an EtherHiding/ClickFix component. FCEB agencies must patch by August 30, 2026. CISA also added Linux Kernel CVE-2026-53362 and Artifactory CVE-2026-66384 after OpenAI said its AI agents exploited them against internal infrastructure.
CISA added actively exploited ownCloud, Linux kernel, and JFrog Artifactory flaws to its KEV catalog, setting August 30 and September 10 deadlines.
CISA added three vulnerabilities to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog: CVE-2023-49105 (ownCloud WebDAV improper authentication, CVSS 9.8), CVE-2026-53362 (Linux kernel IPv6 out-of-bounds write, CVSS 7.8), and CVE-2026-66384 (JFrog Artifactory path traversal, CVSS 5.3). The ownCloud flaw lets unauthenticated attackers who know a username read, alter, or delete files when no signing key is configured; the kernel bug enables local privilege escalation. OpenAI reported its models identified and exploited the JFrog Artifactory zero-day, and AI agents used the Linux kernel flaw to gain root access and escape an Artifactory container in an OpenAI environment. Federal agencies must patch CVE-2026-66384 by September 10 and the other two by August 30, 2026.
CISA says most exploited vulnerabilities are decades-old flaws, blaming organizational culture and weak Secure by Design adoption.
CISA assesses that the vulnerabilities most exploited in the wild are old flaws that should have been eradicated decades ago. The agency attributed the problem to organizational culture and systemic gaps in Secure by Design adoption. The Register's coverage frames the remarks as renewed pressure on vendors and operators to eliminate long-standing weaknesses.
ServiceNow patched four AI Platform flaws, including three pre-authentication CVSS 10.0 issues enabling unauthenticated code execution, SQL injection, and privilege escalation.
ServiceNow released patches on August 27, 2026 for four AI Platform flaws: CVE-2026-18885 (code injection in the GraphQL Composite Data API), CVE-2026-18886 (improper access control enabling privilege escalation), and CVE-2026-74820 (SQL injection), all self-rated CVSS 10.0 and exploitable without authentication, plus CVE-2026-6876, an 8.7 sandbox escape. Updates were deployed to hosted instances, but self-hosted customers must patch affected Xanadu, Yokohama, Zurich, and Australia release lines themselves. ServiceNow says it is not aware of exploitation of the new flaws, and no public exploit code existed as of August 28, 2026; separately, Defused reported in-the-wild exploitation of the earlier CVE-2026-6875 (CVSS 9.5), later noting the captured payload matched Searchlight Cyber's PoC.
cPanel patched critical flaw CVE-2026-65643 letting authenticated hosting customers with addon or parked domain rights execute code as root and fully compromise servers.
cPanel issued patches on August 27, 2026 for CVE-2026-65643, a flaw in domain parking and addon domain functionality in cPanel & WHM that lets an authenticated account holder create arbitrary files and execute code as root, yielding full server control. Fixed builds cover the 11.110, 11.134, 11.136 and 11.138 branches, including WP Squared 11.138.1.7, and auto-update servers receive the fix automatically. No CVSS score, published CVE record, or evidence of exploitation has appeared, and the flaw is absent from CISA's KEV catalog as of August 27. The article also recaps related 2026 cPanel-ecosystem issues, including KEV-listed LiteSpeed plugin flaws and the in-the-wild-exploited Phusion Passenger problem.
CISA added six flaws, including actively exploited CVE-2026-8452 in Citrix NetScaler, to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog with federal patch deadlines.
CISA added six vulnerabilities to its KEV catalog: CVE-2015-3246 and CVE-2015-5287 (Red Hat libuser race condition and ABRT privilege escalation), CVE-2019-1068 (Microsoft SQL Server RCE), CVE-2021-23758 (Ajax.NET Professional deserialization), CVE-2022-0995 (Linux Kernel out-of-bounds write) and CVE-2026-8452 (Citrix NetScaler ADC/Gateway memory buffer flaw). CVE-2026-8452 has been observed under active exploitation in the wild and can cause denial-of-service. Under BOD 22-01, federal civilian agencies must patch CVE-2019-1068 and CVE-2026-8452 by August 29, 2026, and the rest by September 9, 2026.
Trump executive order bans acquisition of foreign-made bulk-power system equipment over cyber backdoor and supply-chain concerns for US electricity infrastructure.
The White House issued an executive order declaring foreign-made bulk-power system electric equipment an "unusual and extraordinary threat," banning its acquisition or installation in the US. The order covers technology managing transmission lines rated at 69,000 volts or higher, substations, control rooms, power generating stations, reactors, and associated remotely accessible software and firmware. It follows recent cyberattacks on water utilities in at least 12 states, malicious activity targeting over 100 internet-exposed water and wastewater systems, and an NSA/FBI advisory on an AI-powered threat to operational technology. The Defense, Commerce, and Energy Departments have 120 days to create rules, identify countries warranting scrutiny, and inventory at-risk equipment.
CISA warns attackers are exploiting CVE-2019-1068, a remote code execution vulnerability in Microsoft SQL Server, to run malicious commands on database servers.
CISA warned that CVE-2019-1068, a remote code execution vulnerability in Microsoft SQL Server, is being exploited in active attacks. Successful exploitation allows an attacker to execute malicious commands on a vulnerable database server, with access limited to the privileges of the SQL Server service account. The warning signals active exploitation of a long-known flaw and makes patching a priority for organizations running affected SQL Server deployments.
CISA's updated ICS advisory details CVE-2025-2399, an out-of-bounds read in Mitsubishi Electric CNC series that lets a remote attacker cause a denial-of-service condition.
CISA released Update A of ICS advisory ICSA-26-078-05 covering Mitsubishi Electric CNC series controllers. The vulnerability CVE-2025-2399 is an out-of-bounds read that a remote attacker can exploit to trigger a denial-of-service condition. Affected products include M800VW, M800VS, M80V, M80VW, M800W, M800S and M80 series controllers up to specified firmware revisions. No exploitation is reported in the advisory.
CISA warns Mitsubishi Electric CC-Link IE TSN remote I/O modules are vulnerable to denial-of-service via crafted UDP packets (CVE-2025-3511).
CISA published Update D of advisory ICSA-25-128-03 covering Mitsubishi Electric factory automation products. Affected products include CC-Link IE TSN Remote I/O modules NZ2GN2S1-32D, NZ2GN2S1-32T, NZ2GN2S1-32TE, and NZ2GN2S1-32DT at firmware version 09 or earlier (CVE-2025-3511). A remote attacker can send a specially crafted UDP packet to cause denial-of-service conditions, timeout errors, or communication delays on the affected products.
CISA published ICS advisory ICSA-26-239-03 for Rockwell Automation OTTO Fleet Manager versions 2.36.2 and earlier (CVE-2026-75112, CVSS v3 6.8). The flaw involves use of a password hash with insufficient computational effort, reducing the cost for an attacker to perform offline brute-force attacks against stored password hashes. Deployments span critical manufacturing and transportation systems sectors worldwide, with company headquarters in the United States.
CISA reports 13 vulnerabilities, including CVSS 9.8 missing-authentication flaws, in Ebyte NA111-M firmware that allow full device compromise.
CISA published ICS advisory ICSA-26-239-05 for Ebyte NA111-M firmware 9013-2-17, listing 13 vulnerabilities tracked from CVE-2026-73125 through CVE-2026-77977. The issues include missing authentication for critical functions, GET requests with sensitive query strings, cross-site request forgery, improper restriction of excessive authentication attempts, and missing authorization. The vendor-assessed CVSS v3 score is 9.8, and successful exploitation could allow an attacker to fully compromise the device. No remediation details are included in the summary text.
CISA added three actively exploited vulnerabilities to its KEV catalog: CVE-2023-49105 (ownCloud), CVE-2026-53362 (Linux kernel), and CVE-2026-66384 (JFrog Artifactory).
CISA added three new entries to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog based on evidence of active exploitation: ownCloud improper authentication (CVE-2023-49105), an unspecified Linux kernel vulnerability (CVE-2026-53362), and JFrog Artifactory improper path restriction (CVE-2026-66384). KEV listing confirms these flaws are being exploited in the wild rather than posing theoretical risk. Under BOD 26-04, federal civilian executive branch agencies must prioritize remediation of KEV entries.
CISA warns of three flaws, including OS command injection, in Xiiaozet LK100W devices before firmware 2.1.240 that allow attackers to take full control of the device.
CISA published ICS advisory ICSA-26-239-01 covering three vulnerabilities (CVE-2026-78037, CVE-2026-78239, CVE-2026-76943) in Xiiaozet LK100W devices running firmware below 2.1.240. The issues include OS command injection, missing authentication for critical functions, and authentication bypass via an alternate path, rated CVSS v3 9.8. Successful exploitation allows an attacker to take control of the device. The China-based vendor's equipment is deployed worldwide, including information technology critical infrastructure sectors.
CISA warns All-Line Equipment Fuel-Boss product versions contain flaws enabling remote command or code execution; fixes are available for some variants only.
CISA published ICS advisory ICSA-26-239-02 covering vulnerabilities in All-Line Equipment Company Fuel-Boss products, including the V1 Standard, V1 Portal, V1 Master/Slave, and V1 Backflush. Successful exploitation could allow attackers to execute arbitrary commands or code remotely on affected systems. Vendor fixes are available for Fuel-Boss V1 Standard and V1 Portal, fixes are not yet available for V1 Master/Slave, and no fix is planned for V1 Backflush. Customers are directed to contact All-Line Equipment Company for remediation instructions.
CISA warns ASE2000 V2 test sets allow arbitrary file read/write, outbound request abuse, and TLS peer impersonation; version 2.38 fixes both vulnerabilities.
CISA published ICS advisory ICSA-26-239-04 for Applied Systems Engineering (Kalkitech) ASE2000 V2 Communications Test Set versions 2.25 through 2.37. Exploitation could allow reading or writing arbitrary local files, forcing outbound network requests, or intercepting the TLS connection to impersonate the trusted peer and read or modify protected communications. Vendor ASE/Kalkitech provides upgraded version 2.38, which also updates the bundled log4net library, fixing both vulnerabilities; customers are advised to upgrade.
CISA added six actively exploited vulnerabilities in Microsoft, Linux, Red Hat and Citrix products to its KEV catalog on August 26.
CISA added six new vulnerabilities to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on August 26, citing signs of active exploitation in the wild. The affected products span Microsoft, Linux, Red Hat, and Citrix. Specific CVE identifiers and affected versions were not listed in the source text, but KEV listing requires confirmed exploitation.
CISA urged water utilities to secure internet-exposed PLCs after July 2026 attacks compromised over 100 US water and wastewater systems, suspected Iran-linked.
CISA's exposure-reduction guidance, published August 21, follows July 2026 attacks in which threat actors remotely accessed PLCs connected directly through cellular modems, changed device IP addresses and passwords, and in some cases disabled alarms and shutdown processes without notifying operators. Iran is the suspected actor, though officials stopped short of formal attribution. CISA recommends routing remote access through centrally managed secure gateways, phishing-resistant MFA, unique credentials, and external scanning of industrial protocols such as Modbus, EtherNet/IP, DNP3, BACnet and OPC UA.
CISA added six actively exploited flaws to KEV, led by Citrix NetScaler CVE-2026-8452, with federal patch deadlines set.
CISA added six flaws to the KEV catalog on August 27, 2026, citing evidence of active exploitation, led by CVE-2026-8452, an improper buffer restriction in Citrix NetScaler ADC and Gateway that can cause denial-of-service. Defused Cyber and Previdian reported active exploitation of CVE-2026-8452, with 36 attempts over 12 days from 12 attacker IPs deploying web shells x.php and z.php. The other additions cover SQL Server RCE (CVE-2019-1068), Linux kernel out-of-bounds write (CVE-2022-0995), Red Hat ABRT and libuser privilege escalations (CVE-2015-5287, CVE-2015-3246), and AjaxPro deserialization RCE (CVE-2021-23758). FCEB agencies must patch CVE-2019-1068 and CVE-2026-8452 by August 29, 2026, and the rest by September 9, 2026.
CISA red teams achieved full domain and cloud compromise at two critical infrastructure orgs; one SOC never detected the intrusion.
CISA advisory AA26-237A documents two simultaneous red team assessments. Organization A (Government Services sector) missed the intrusion entirely, as default credentials on a web app, ADCS ESC1 abuse, and thousands of false-positive alerts let the red team reach sensitive business systems and read SOC email. Organization B (Water/Wastewater sector) detected, isolated, and reimaged hosts quickly, but both orgs lacked Conditional Access for workload identities, and B still exposed DCSync, Golden Ticket, and OT network attack paths.
Ubiquiti patches 22 UniFi vulnerabilities, 21 rated critical including three CVSS 10.0 flaws enabling unauthorized access.
Ubiquiti disclosed and patched 22 vulnerabilities, 21 rated critical and three assigned the maximum CVSS 10.0 score: CVE-2026-77537, CVE-2026-77550, and CVE-2026-77554. All three involve improper access control that could let attackers gain privileges, while other flaws permit authentication bypass or arbitrary command execution. All but one of the 22 affect the UniFi product line. The company did not confirm whether any were exploited before patching.
Canada's Cyber Centre updates Citrix advisory as CVE-2026-8451 and CVE-2026-8452 in NetScaler ADC/Gateway are confirmed exploited in the wild.
The Canadian Centre for Cyber Security updated advisory AV26-645 on August 26, 2026, covering critical vulnerabilities in Citrix NetScaler ADC and Gateway (versions 14.1 before 14.1-72.61 and 13.1 before 13.1-63.18, plus FIPS builds). Open-source reporting indicates CVE-2026-8451 and CVE-2026-8452 are being exploited in the wild. Update 3 references related CISA action, and patched builds were released starting June 30, 2026.
CISA says hackers targeted over 100 US water systems in July amid suspected Iran-backed attacks on critical water infrastructure.
CISA confirmed that hackers targeted more than 100 US water systems during July. The federal agency's warning comes amid a wave of suspected Iran-backed cyberattacks against critical water infrastructure across the United States. The available text does not specify intrusion methods, compromised utilities by name, or data impact.
CISA red teams fully compromised two critical infrastructure orgs with similar tradecraft; one detected nothing, the other contained phishing within minutes.
CISA advisory AA26-237A, 'A Tale of Two SOCs,' describes two simultaneous red team assessments of a Government Services organization and a Water and Wastewater Systems organization, both compromised to the domain level. Organization A never detected the intrusion, enabled by default credentials, a misconfigured AD CS template (ESC1), cleartext credentials, non-expiring static AWS keys, and over-permissioned Entra ID applications. Organization B detected and isolated phishing within 2-20 minutes, though the red team still reached krbtgt via DCSync from cleartext SCCM credentials. CISA attributes the outcome gap to people and processes rather than the security tools themselves.
CISA's Vulnerability Review finds most compromises exploit exposed, well-known flaws due to basic security failures, based on FY2024-2025 data.
The CISA Vulnerability Review analyzes CISA and open-source data from fiscal years 2024 and 2025. It concludes most compromises do not rely on advanced techniques; threat actors scan the internet for exposed, well-known software vulnerabilities. CISA urges organizations to address underlying weaknesses and prioritize vulnerabilities for remediation based on the risk they pose.
CISA added actively exploited Gitea RCE CVE-2026-60004 (CVSS 9.8) to the KEV catalog as attackers deploy a cryptojacking dropper.
CVE-2026-60004 is a critical remote code execution flaw affecting Gitea versions 1.17 through 1.27.0, abused via the diffpatch endpoint to install a Git hook and execute shell commands as the Gitea OS user. Default open registration lets unauthenticated attackers obtain the required repository write access. CISA added the flaw to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog, giving federal agencies until August 28, 2026 to patch; version 1.27.1 fixes it. A developer reported their HOSTKEY-hosted VPS was exploited to run a miner-like dropper, driving CPU usage above 70% and killing competing processes.
Pre-Authentication SSRF in SonicWall SMA1000 Appliance Workplace Interface
CVE-2026-83548 is a critical (CVSS 3.1 score 10.0) server-side request forgery (SSRF) vulnerability in the Workplace interface of SonicWall SMA1000 appliances, caused by an unintended alternate access path (unprotected alternate channel, CWE-441; SSRF, CWE-918). Because it is pre-authentication, any remote unauthenticated attacker who can reach the interface can trigger it and gain unauthorized access to sensitive functionality and perform unauthorized operations. CISA lists all SonicWall SMA1000 appliances as affected, with CPE data naming the SMA 8200v and SMA 6210/7210 firmware; internet-exposed units are at highest risk. The flaw is being actively exploited in the wild: it was added to CISA's Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-09-02 alongside companion zero-day CVE-2026-83549, which reporting suggests may form an attack chain with this SSRF. Exploitation probability is elevated (EPSS 4.7%, 91st percentile) and no public proof-of-concept is known.
Authentication bypass to root access in Cisco Secure Firewall Management Center
CVE-2026-20079 is an authentication bypass (CWE-288) in the web interface of Cisco Secure Firewall Management Center (FMC) Software, caused by an improper system process created at boot time. An unauthenticated, remote attacker can exploit it by sending crafted HTTP requests to the FMC web interface, which allows the execution of script files and commands on the device. A successful exploit grants the attacker root access to the underlying operating system, giving full control of the management platform (CVSS 3.1: 10.0, network-exploitable, no privileges or user interaction required, scope changed). The flaw affects Cisco Secure Firewall Management Center (FMC) and Security Cloud Control (SCC) Firewall Management deployments. Cisco has confirmed the vulnerability is being exploited in active attacks, it carries a 35.9% EPSS score (98th percentile), and CISA added it to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-09-09.
Actively Exploited V8 Type Confusion in Google Chrome (CVE-2026-85046)
Google Chrome versions prior to 152.0.7977.82 contain a type confusion flaw (CWE-843) in the V8 JavaScript engine, which mishandles object types during engine operations (public proof-of-concept writeups indicate it is reachable through array sorting and WebAssembly-related code paths). A remote attacker triggers the flaw simply by getting a user to open a crafted HTML page, with no privileges or authentication required. Successful exploitation lets the attacker execute arbitrary code inside the browser's sandbox, and public reporting shows it being chained with Windows zero-days (the 'BlueMoon' exploit kit) by Chinese espionage groups for broader compromise. Any user of an unpatched Chrome or another build embedding the affected V8 engine is exposed. The vulnerability is a zero-day that was actively exploited in the wild before patching, was added to CISA's KEV on 2026-09-04, and has five public proof-of-concept references.
· Google Chrome prior to 152.0.7977.82 · Google Chromium V8 V8 engine versions bundled with Chrome prior to 152.0.7977.82 KEV PoC ×5mass
Authenticated OS Command Injection RCE in SonicWall SMA1000 Appliance Console
CVE-2026-83549 is a post-authentication OS command injection flaw (CWE-78) in the Appliance Management Console (AMC) of SonicWall SMA1000 appliances. An attacker who authenticates to the AMC with administrator privileges can, under specific conditions, inject arbitrary operating system commands and achieve remote code execution on the appliance. Only organizations running SMA1000-series appliances, including the SMA 6210, SMA 7210, and SMA 8200v models cited in the data, are affected. CISA added the flaw to the KEV catalog on 2026-09-02, and news reports describe active exploitation, possibly chained with companion zero-day CVE-2026-83548, with reverse shells and cryptocurrency miners observed; no public proof-of-concept is known. EPSS assigns an 8.5% probability of exploitation within 30 days (95th percentile).
· SonicWall SMA1000 series appliances - Appliance Management Console (AMC) · SonicWall SMA 6210 (SMA1000 series firmware) KEVmoderate
Unsafe Reflection RCE in PaperCut NG/MF, Chained with Auth Bypass in Attacks
CVE-2026-82078 is an unsafe dynamic class loading flaw (unsafe reflection, CWE-470) in the database connection utilities of PaperCut NG and PaperCut MF: the software instantiates a database driver class based on a configurable driver name without validating it against an allowlist of approved drivers. An attacker who can manipulate system configuration parameters can point that setting at classes of their choosing, causing the server to execute arbitrary Java bytecode residing on the application classpath in the security context of the PaperCut server process. On its own the issue is rated 9.4 (Critical) with high privileges required, but when chained with the companion authentication bypass CVE-2026-81578 it yields unauthenticated remote code execution on the print-management server. All PaperCut NG and MF deployments are in scope; affected version ranges were not specified in the available data, so administrators should consult PaperCut's advisory for fixed versions. The flaw is confirmed exploited in the wild as a zero-day: it was added to CISA's KEV catalog on 2026-08-31, and public reporting describes an AI-orchestrated campaign that compromised PaperCut servers at roughly 395 organizations (~440 servers), with EPSS currently at 1.7% (76th percentile).
Missing Authentication for Critical Function in PaperCut NG/MF Web Interface
CVE-2026-81578 is an improper access control flaw (CWE-305) in the web management interface of PaperCut MF and PaperCut NG in which administrative requests from unauthenticated remote users trigger backend actions before access validation completes. An attacker can invoke administrative functions without logging in, allowing modification of certain system configurations. When chained with CVE-2026-82078 (unsafe dynamic class loading), the flaw has been used to achieve unauthenticated code execution. Any organization running PaperCut NG/MF, particularly servers whose web management interface is reachable from the internet or untrusted networks, is affected. The vulnerability was added to CISA KEV on 2026-08-31 and is being exploited in the wild as part of an AI-orchestrated campaign that compromised roughly 395–440 organizations.
Unauthenticated OS Command Injection RCE in Synacor Zimbra Collaboration Suite
CVE-2026-73570 is an OS command injection vulnerability (CWE-78) in Synacor Zimbra Collaboration Suite (ZCS) before 10.1.20, caused by improper sanitization of untrusted input during SNMP notification processing. It is triggered when the optional zimbra-snmp package is installed and SNMP notifications are enabled: an unauthenticated attacker sends specially crafted SMTP requests that the flawed notification path turns into execution of arbitrary operating system commands. Successful exploitation runs commands as the Zimbra user, giving attackers control of the mail server's service account with high confidentiality and integrity impact across the host. Only ZCS deployments running the optional SNMP component with notifications enabled are vulnerable; other Zimbra installs are not exposed to this specific flaw. The flaw is under active exploitation: CISA added it to the KEV catalog on 2026-08-21, Poland's CERT has warned of in-the-wild attacks, unpatched Zimbra servers are reported compromised, and two public proof-of-concept exploits exist.
· Synacor Zimbra Collaboration Suite (ZCS) before 10.1.20 (when the optional zimbra-snmp package is installed and SNMP notifications are enabled) KEV PoC ×4large
Heap-Based Buffer Overflow in Windows ALPC Enables Local Privilege Escalation
CVE-2026-85880 is a heap-based buffer overflow in Windows Advanced Local Procedure Call (ALPC), the Windows mechanism for local inter-process communication. An authorized local attacker can trigger the overflow by submitting crafted input over ALPC, corrupting heap memory in the component that handles the request. Successful exploitation allows the attacker to execute code with elevated privileges, typically gaining SYSTEM-level control of the local host, which is especially valuable as a post-exploitation or sandbox-escape step. Affected products include Windows 10 (1607, 1809, 21H2, 22H2) and Windows Server 2012, 2016, 2019, and 2022, meaning most on-premises Windows estates are in scope. The flaw was fixed in Microsoft's record 974-CVE September 2026 Patch Tuesday and was added to CISA's KEV on 2026-09-08, confirming exploitation in the wild; press reports describe Windows zero-days being chained with a Chrome zero-day in 'BlueMoon' kit attacks, though the data does not explicitly confirm this CVE is the Windows flaw in that chain.
· Microsoft Windows 10 1607, 1809, 21H2, 22H2 · Microsoft Windows Server 2012, 2016, 2019, 2022 KEVmass
Local Privilege Escalation via Link Following in Windows Update Stack
CVE-2026-81963 is a link-following flaw (CWE-59, improper link resolution before file access) in the Microsoft Windows Update Stack, in which the component fails to correctly resolve file links before opening them. A local attacker with low privileges can plant or manipulate a link (symlink/junction) that the privileged update stack follows during operation, redirecting its file access to an attacker-controlled target. The result is local privilege escalation — CVSS 3.1 rates this 7.8 (high) with high confidentiality, integrity, and availability impact — allowing an authorized local user or malware already on the machine to gain elevated rights. Affected products are Windows 11 23H2, 24H2, 25H2, and 26H1 and Windows Server 2025; any unpatched system on those versions is exposed to any local account holder. The flaw was fixed in Microsoft's record September 2026 Patch Tuesday (974 CVEs), was added to CISA's KEV on 2026-09-08 as one of two Windows zero-days reported as exploited in the wild, and has no known public PoC or confirmed ransomware use.
· Microsoft Windows 11 23H2, 24H2, 25H2, 26H1 · Microsoft Windows Server 2025 KEVmass
Improper Authentication in JFrog Artifactory Allows Unauthenticated Admin Access
JFrog Artifactory contains an improper authentication flaw (CWE-287) that, under the product's default configuration, can let an unauthenticated attacker with network access obtain administrative privileges. The weakness is reachable over the network with no privileges or user interaction required, which is why it carries a critical 9.8 CVSS 3.1 score; an attacker who succeeds effectively gains full administrator control of the artifact repository, and public reporting describes attackers using the flaw to mint admin tokens days after disclosure. Any organization running JFrog Artifactory is in scope — CISA's entry lists the product without version detail, so deployments should verify their versions against JFrog's advisory (AV26-867, Update 1) — with internet-exposed instances at greatest risk. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: CISA added the CVE to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities Catalog on 2026-09-02, a public proof-of-concept is available, and news headlines report active exploitation alongside related Artifactory flaws CVE-2026-42016 and CVE-2026-42018.
Entities are extracted by the model from each article. Watching an entity keeps it in this browser only (no account); the watchlist page and dashboard alerts use it.