ZeroHour

Vulnerabilities mentionedAll →

CVEVulnerabilityCVSSEPSSFlagsAffectedExposurePublished
CVE-2018-13379
Unauthenticated Path Traversal in Fortinet FortiOS SSL VPN

CVE-2018-13379 is a path traversal flaw (CWE-22) in the Fortinet FortiOS SSL VPN web portal that allows an unauthenticated attacker to download FortiOS system files via specially crafted HTTP resource requests. By traversing directories through crafted requests to the exposed web portal, the attacker can retrieve sensitive files, a technique publicly documented as yielding the SSL VPN session file containing usernames and passwords in plaintext. Any organization running the SSL VPN web portal on a FortiGate appliance is affected, and risk is highest where the portal is directly reachable from the internet. The flaw is confirmed in the wild: it was added to the CISA KEV catalog on 2021-11-03 with known ransomware use, and EPSS assigns it a 100% probability of exploitation within 30 days. No public PoC is listed in the provided data, but credential theft tied to this bug has been widely reused by threat actors.

Do: Apply the patched FortiOS release per Fortinet's vendor advisory immediately, as this is a CISA KEV required action; if the fixed version is not known from this data, follow Fortinet's FG-IR-18-384 advisory for the correct upgrade path. Rotate SSL VPN credentials and review VPN access logs for path-traversal requests, since successful exploitation exposes plaintext session credentials, and restrict SSL VPN portal exposure to trusted sources where possible.

9.8100% KEV ransomware
  • Fortinet FortiOS
mass≈500,000 internet-exposed FortiOS SSL VPN portals (Fortinet cited ~480,000 affected devices)
CVE-2019-10149
Unvalidated Email Recipient Enables Remote Command Execution in Exim MTA

CVE-2019-10149 is an improper input validation flaw (CWE-78, OS command injection) in the deliver_message() function in /src/deliver.c of the Exim mail transfer agent, where email recipient addresses are not safely validated before use. A remote attacker triggers it by sending mail whose recipient address contains crafted Exim string-expansion syntax (such as ${run{...}}), causing Exim to expand and execute attacker-supplied operating-system commands during recipient verification or delivery. An attacker gains arbitrary remote command execution on the mail server, commonly with elevated privileges, enabling full system compromise, data theft, ransomware deployment (e.g., the Trinity ransomware campaign), or installation of botnet implants. Any organization running an internet-exposed Exim MTA in the affected version range is at risk, and Exim is widely deployed as the default mail server on many Linux distributions. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: mass scanning and compromise campaigns began shortly after the June 2019 disclosure, CISA added the flaw to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2022-01-10, and its EPSS score of 100% (100th percentile) reflects near-certain near-term exploitation risk.

Do: Upgrade Exim to 4.92 or later, or install your distribution's patched Exim package, as required by CISA's KEV action ('apply updates per vendor instructions'); if patching must be delayed, restrict internet-facing SMTP access and tighten recipient-verification configuration. Check mail logs for suspicious MAIL FROM/RCPT TO addresses containing expansion syntax such as ${run{...}} or shell-like commands, and audit patched servers for post-compromise artifacts such as unusual cron jobs, downloaded binaries, or new authorized SSH keys.

9.8100% KEV PoC ×5
  • Exim Mail Transfer Agent (MTA) Exim 4.87 through 4.91 inclusive, per the vendor's advisory (fixed in 4.92 and via vendor-backported patches; the CISA data provided does not list a specific ve
mass≈500,000+ internet-exposed Exim SMTP servers, with hundreds of thousands likely running vulnerable versions
CVE-2019-11510
Unauthenticated Arbitrary File Read in Ivanti Pulse Connect Secure VPN

Ivanti Pulse Connect Secure, an enterprise SSL VPN appliance, contains an arbitrary file read vulnerability (CWE-22, path traversal) that requires no authentication. An unauthenticated remote attacker with network access to the appliance over HTTPS can send a specially crafted URI containing traversal sequences to read arbitrary files from the device. The attacker gains access to sensitive appliance files, potentially including configuration or credential material useful for further compromise, and CISA records known ransomware use of this flaw. Any organization running Pulse Connect Secure, especially gateways exposed to the internet for remote access, is affected. Exploitation is established: CISA added the flaw to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2021-11-03 with known ransomware use, EPSS assigns a 100% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days, and no public PoC is known.

Do: Apply updates per Ivanti's instructions, the required action in the CISA KEV entry, prioritizing internet-facing Pulse Connect Secure gateways, and consult the vendor advisory for the applicable fixed release since no version range is provided here. Where patching is not immediate, restrict HTTPS access to the appliance and hunt for signs of exploitation (unexpected file reads, anomalous VPN logins or sessions, and follow-on ransomware activity), as CISA reports known ransomware use.

10.0100% KEV ransomware PoC ×2
  • Ivanti Pulse Connect Secure
largeTens of thousands of internet-exposed gateways (order of 10,000-100,000 systems; each typically serves hundreds of VPN users, so potentially millions of users)
CVE-2019-1653
Unauthenticated Config Disclosure in Cisco RV320/RV325 Routers

CVE-2019-1653 is an improper access control flaw (CWE-284) in the web-based management interface of Cisco Small Business RV320 and RV325 Dual Gigabit WAN VPN routers. It is triggered by sending requests to vulnerable URLs on the management interface without authentication, bypassing the intended access controls. An attacker gains the ability to download the full router configuration — which can expose credentials and VPN/VPN-tunnel settings — as well as detailed diagnostic information about the device. Any Cisco RV320 or RV325 router whose management interface is reachable, particularly over the internet, is affected. The flaw is listed in CISA's Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog (added 2021-11-03) and carries a 99.9% EPSS score, though no public proof-of-concept is known and no ransomware association has been confirmed.

Do: Apply the updated router firmware from Cisco as instructed in the vendor advisory, per the CISA KEV required action. If updating is not immediately possible, restrict or disable WAN-side access to the web management interface and limit it to trusted management hosts. Because the downloaded configuration can contain credentials, change administrative and VPN passwords after patching, and review logs for signs of unauthenticated configuration downloads.

7.5100% KEV PoC ×5
  • Cisco Small Business RV320 Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Router
  • Cisco Small Business RV325 Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Router
largetens of thousands of internet-exposed routers (public internet-wide scans at disclosure found on the order of 20,000–30,000 RV320/RV325 devices with reachable…
CVE-2019-19781
Unauthenticated path traversal RCE in Citrix ADC, Gateway, and SD-WAN WANOP

CVE-2019-19781 is a path-traversal flaw (classified CWE-22, though CISA's description calls it unspecified) in Citrix ADC (formerly NetScaler ADC), Citrix Gateway, and Citrix SD-WAN WANOP appliances that lets an unauthenticated remote attacker traverse directories via crafted requests and execute arbitrary commands on the appliance, typically with root privileges. It is triggered by sending specially crafted directory-traversal requests (crafted URLs/requests to the appliance's management or VPN endpoints), which lets the attacker write files and run commands with no credentials. Successful exploitation yields arbitrary code execution on the appliance, enabling theft of VPN/ADC credentials, lateral movement into the corporate network, and installation of persistent backdoors. Any organization running affected ADC, Gateway, or SD-WAN WANOP firmware is affected, with internet-facing gateways used for remote access at the highest risk. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: the vulnerability is on CISA's KEV (added 2021-11-03) with known ransomware use, EPSS assigns near-certain (100.0%) probability of exploitation within 30 days, and no public PoC is listed despite confirmed abuse.

Do: Upgrade Citrix ADC, Gateway, and SD-WAN WANOP appliances to the fixed firmware builds listed in Citrix advisory CTX267020; if patching cannot be done immediately, apply Citrix's published interim mitigation and restrict internet exposure to the appliance. Because exploitation grants root code execution and persistence, after patching hunt for indicators of compromise (unexpected nsroot account, modified system files, crontab/scheduled entries), kill all active and inactive sessions, and rotate appliance and VPN credentials. Prioritize internet-facing gateways and comply with CISA's required action to apply vendor updates.

9.8100% KEV ransomware
  • Citrix Application Delivery Controller (ADC) Supported ADC firmware lines in effect at disclosure (10.5, 11.0, 11.1, 12.0, 12.1, 13.0) prior to patched builds, per Citrix advisory CTX267020; exact builds n
  • Citrix Gateway Supported Gateway firmware lines (sharing the ADC codebase, same affected releases 10.5-13.0) prior to patched builds, per Citrix advisory; exact builds not spe
  • Citrix SD-WAN WANOP Appliance Affected appliance models (4000, 4100, 5000, 5100) running pre-patch firmware in the 10.2.1-11.4.1 range, per Citrix advisory; exact builds not specified in the
massroughly 80,000-100,000+ internet-exposed Citrix ADC/Gateway appliances at the time of disclosure, with a far larger total installed base (including…
CVE-2019-2725
Unauthenticated Injection in Oracle WebLogic Web Services Enables RCE

CVE-2019-2725 is an easily exploitable injection flaw (CWE-74) in the Web Services subcomponent of Oracle WebLogic Server within Oracle Fusion Middleware, publicly documented as affecting WebLogic 10.3.6.0, 12.1.3.0, 12.2.1.1 and 12.2.1.3. It is triggered when an unauthenticated remote attacker sends attacker-controlled XML over HTTP to the WebLogic Web Services async response endpoint (the /_async/AsyncResponseService servlet), which processes the input unsafely. Successful attacks give the attacker takeover of the affected WebLogic server (remote code execution); in the 2019 exploitation wave this was used to install cryptocurrency miners and deploy ransomware. Any organization running affected Oracle WebLogic Server versions is exposed, with the greatest risk where the async/Web Services endpoints are reachable, especially on internet-facing servers. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: CISA added the CVE to its KEV catalog on 2022-01-10 with ransomware use known and requires applying vendor updates, the EPSS probability of exploitation is 100% (100th percentile), and no public PoC is catalogued.

Do: Apply Oracle's updates per vendor instructions: this CVE was fixed by Oracle's April 2019 out-of-band WebLogic patch and is covered by subsequent Critical Patch Updates, so bring affected WebLogic 10.3.6.0/12.1.3.0/12.2.1.x servers to a patched level (CISA KEV requires this action). Until patched, restrict or remove the async response service deployments (wls9_async_response.war / wls_wsee_async_response.war, exposing the /_async/AsyncResponseService endpoint) and keep WebLogic ports off the internet. Also review logs for unsolicited POSTs to /_async/AsyncResponseService and for signs of dropped miners or ransomware payloads.

9.8100% KEV ransomware PoC
  • Oracle WebLogic Server (Oracle Fusion Middleware, Web Services subcomponent)
largetens of thousands of internet-exposed WebLogic servers (~30,000+ reported in 2019 internet scans), plus a much larger internal install base
CVE-2019-7609
Prototype Pollution RCE in Elastic Kibana Timelion Visualizer

CVE-2019-7609 is an arbitrary code execution flaw in the Timelion visualizer of Elastic Kibana, a JavaScript injection flaw (CWE-94) driven by prototype pollution. An attacker with access to the Timelion application can send a crafted request that executes JavaScript, potentially leading to arbitrary commands running on the host with the permissions of the Kibana process. All Kibana releases before 5.6.15 and before 6.6.1 are affected, and the flaw also applies to the Kibana component bundled with Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform. Exploitation requires only network access to a vulnerable Timelion endpoint, making internet-exposed or broadly shared Kibana instances the primary targets. The flaw is actively exploited: it was added to CISA's Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2022-01-10, carries a 95.3% EPSS score, and is among the top flaws recently leveraged by Russia-linked APT29 hackers against critical infrastructure according to recent US/UK advisories.

Do: Upgrade Kibana to 5.6.15 or later (5.x) or 6.6.1 or later (6.x) per Elastic's instructions, and apply Red Hat's updated logging/Kibana packages for OpenShift. As interim mitigation, restrict access to the Timelion application, especially on internet-facing Kibana instances, and hunt for unexpected child processes or outbound connections spawned by the Kibana service indicating exploitation. Prioritize patching anything listed as internet-exposed, given the flaw's presence in CISA KEV and documented APT29 use.

10.095% KEV PoC
  • elastic kibana All versions before 5.6.15 (5.x) and all versions before 6.6.1 (6.x)
  • redhat openshift container platform
largetens of thousands of internet-exposed Kibana instances (roughly 30,000-50,000 in public scans), with far more internal deployments
CVE-2019-9670
XML External Entity (XXE) Injection in Synacor Zimbra Collaboration Suite (ZCS)

Synacor Zimbra Collaboration Suite (ZCS) contains an improper restriction of XML external entity (XXE) vulnerability (CWE-611) in its mailboxd component, meaning XML parsing accepts external entity references that the parser should restrict. By submitting crafted XML that ZCS parses in mailboxd, an attacker can typically direct the server to fetch external entities, potentially disclosing local files or issuing server-side requests; the available data does not specify authentication requirements or exact affected version ranges. Organizations running Synacor Zimbra Collaboration Suite are affected. The flaw is confirmed as exploited in the wild: CISA added CVE-2019-9670 to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2022-01-10, and EPSS assigns a 100% probability of exploitation within 30 days; no public PoC is listed and ransomware association is listed as unknown.

Do: Apply updates per Synacor/Zimbra instructions, as required by the CISA KEV catalog; because no fixed version numbers are provided in the available data, administrators of all ZCS deployments should consult current vendor advisories and patch promptly. As interim mitigation, restrict or disable external entity resolution in XML processing and limit exposure of mailboxd-facing services. Check mailboxd logs and outbound network activity for signs of entity resolution or unexpected connections, and prioritize this fix given the 2022-01-10 KEV listing and 100% EPSS score.

9.8100% KEV PoC ×3
  • Synacor Zimbra Collaboration Suite (ZCS)
largetens of thousands of internet-exposed ZCS servers (estimate; user impact likely higher)
CVE-2020-0688
RCE in Microsoft Exchange Server from Shared Install-Time Validation Keys

CVE-2020-0688 is a remote code execution vulnerability in Microsoft Exchange Server caused by the validation key not being uniquely created at install time, leaving deployments with a predictable, shared key (CWE-287, improper authentication). A remote attacker who can reach an affected Exchange server and knows the common install-time key can supply maliciously crafted, cryptographically signed payloads that the server trusts, triggering code execution without needing per-server secrets. Successful exploitation gives the attacker code execution on the Exchange server, which can be used to access mail data, move laterally, and stage follow-on activity; CISA notes known use in ransomware campaigns. All organizations running the affected on-premises Microsoft Exchange Server are in scope per CISA's listing, though the affected version range is not specified in the source data. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: the flaw was added to CISA's KEV on 2021-11-03 with known ransomware use, and EPSS rates 30-day exploitation probability at 100% (top percentile).

Do: Apply Microsoft's Exchange security updates addressing CVE-2020-0688 (released in February 2020) to every on-premises Exchange server, per CISA's required action. As an interim mitigation, configure a unique ASP.NET machineKey in each Exchange server's web.config instead of the default shared install-time key, and hunt for indicators of exploitation given the known ransomware use.

8.8100% KEV ransomware PoC ×2
  • Microsoft Exchange Server
masshundreds of thousands of on-premises Exchange servers (≈500,000)
CVE-2020-14882
Remote Code Execution in Oracle WebLogic Server

CVE-2020-14882 is a remote code execution vulnerability in Oracle WebLogic Server; its relationship to CVE-2020-14750 (a WebLogic administration console flaw) indicates it is reachable over the network, likely without authentication. An attacker who can reach a vulnerable WebLogic instance can trigger the flaw and execute arbitrary code in the context of the server. Successful exploitation can yield full control of the affected host, enabling data theft, lateral movement, and potentially ransomware deployment (ransomware use is currently unknown). Any organization running Oracle WebLogic Server is affected; WebLogic is widely deployed as a Java application server in large enterprises and government networks, and instances are frequently exposed to the internet. The vulnerability is listed in CISA's Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog (added 2021-11-03) and carries a maximum EPSS score of 100%, indicating confirmed in-the-wild exploitation.

Do: Apply Oracle's WebLogic Server updates per vendor instructions immediately, as this is a required action under the CISA KEV listing. Inventory environments for WebLogic deployments (commonly listening on ports 7001/7002), prioritize patching internet-facing instances, and restrict or firewall access to the WebLogic administration console until patched. Review access logs for signs of exploitation, and treat unpatched, externally reachable WebLogic servers as high risk given the 100% EPSS score and confirmed in-the-wild exploitation.

9.8100% KEV PoC ×3
  • Oracle WebLogic Server
large≈50,000–100,000 internet-exposed WebLogic systems (public internet-wide scan counts around 2020); many more deployed internally in enterprise networks
CVE-2020-4006
Command Injection in VMware Workspace ONE Access and Identity Manager

CVE-2020-4006 is a command injection flaw (CWE-78, CVSS 3.1 9.1) in the admin consoles of VMware Workspace ONE Access, Workspace ONE Access Connector, VMware Identity Manager, and VMware Identity Manager Connector, with the affected components also shipped inside VMware Cloud Foundation and vRealize Suite Lifecycle Manager. An attacker who gains privileged access to an admin console, which is typically reachable over the network, can inject and run arbitrary commands on the appliance, achieving full compromise of the host with high confidentiality, integrity, and availability impact and a changed scope. Organizations running the affected identity products are exposed, especially where the admin console is internet-facing or reachable from untrusted networks. The bug was actively exploited by Russian state-sponsored (SVR/APT29) actors against unpatched deployments, prompting a CISA emergency directive, NSA and FBI joint warnings, and inclusion in the KEV catalog; EPSS estimates a 17.3% probability of exploitation within 30 days, and no public proof-of-concept is known.

Do: Apply the patches VMware released in its November 2020 advisory (VMSA-2020-0027) for all affected products, connectors, and any Cloud Foundation or vRealize Suite Lifecycle Manager deployments that embed the components — this is a KEV-required action. As an interim mitigation, restrict network access to the admin console (typically port 8443) to trusted users and networks only. Review admin-console and system logs for signs of command injection or SVR/APT29 activity, since the bug was exploited in the wild by Russian state-sponsored actors.

9.117% KEV
  • VMware Workspace ONE Access multiple affected releases (3.x/20.x lines) — see VMware security advisory
  • VMware Workspace ONE Access Connector multiple affected releases (3.x/20.x lines) — see VMware security advisory
  • VMware Identity Manager multiple affected releases (3.x/20.x lines) — see VMware security advisory
  • +3 more
largetens of thousands of enterprise identity-appliance deployments, with likely several thousand admin consoles internet-exposed
CVE-2020-5902
Unauthenticated RCE via path traversal in F5 BIG-IP TMUI

CVE-2020-5902 is a critical, unauthenticated remote code execution flaw in the F5 BIG-IP Traffic Management User Interface (TMUI), the appliance's web management console, rooted in a directory/path traversal issue (CWE-22) in undisclosed TMUI pages. It is triggered by sending crafted HTTP(S) requests to the management interface — classically path-traversal URLs beneath the TMUI application on the management port — which lets an attacker bypass authentication, read or delete arbitrary files, and execute commands without credentials. Successful exploitation yields full control of the BIG-IP system, which attackers can use to pivot into networks the appliance fronts, maintain persistence, and deploy ransomware. Any organization running an affected F5 BIG-IP appliance or virtual edition whose TMUI is reachable, or whose management network can be reached, is exposed; F5's installed base spans large enterprises and service providers, so the footprint is broad. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: the flaw was mass-scanned and exploited within days of its July 2020 disclosure, it is listed in CISA KEV with known ransomware use, and EPSS assigns a ~100% probability of exploitation within 30 days.

Do: Patch immediately using F5's advisory K52145254 — upgrade BIG-IP to a fixed release per the vendor's version matrix, since CISA's required action is applying vendor updates. Until patched, restrict TMUI/management-interface access to trusted source IPs or a VPN (or disable TMUI if unused) and apply F5's published interim workaround. Because ransomware use is confirmed, hunt for indicators of compromise on both patched and unpatched appliances (unexpected files, webshells, modified login pages, new accounts or scheduled tasks) before treating systems as clean.

9.8100% KEV ransomware PoC ×8
  • F5 BIG-IP
mass≈100,000–300,000 internet-exposed BIG-IP TMUI endpoints, with a far larger internal installed base
CVE-2021-26855
Unauthenticated SSRF/RCE in Microsoft Exchange Server (ProxyLogon)

CVE-2021-26855 is a server-side request forgery flaw (CWE-918) in Microsoft Exchange Server that allows an unauthenticated remote attacker to send specially crafted HTTP requests and have the Exchange server process them as itself, disclosing sensitive session information. When chained with sibling Exchange flaws (the 'ProxyLogon' chain), it yields authentication bypass and arbitrary file write, escalating to full remote code execution with SYSTEM-level privileges on the on-premises Exchange server. Any organization running an affected on-premises Exchange server reachable over HTTP/HTTPS (typically outbound webmail) is exposed; Exchange Online was not affected. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild at large scale: the flaw was mass-exploited beginning in early 2021 (notably by the HAFNIUM group), is on the CISA KEV with documented ransomware use, and has a maximum EPSS score of 100% (100th percentile), despite no public PoC listing.

Do: Apply the vendor's March 2021 Exchange security updates (or later cumulative updates) immediately, per the CISA required action; until patched, limit Exchange (ECP/OWA) exposure to the internet via firewall/VPN rules. Hunt for compromise: review IIS logs for unrecognized authenticated activity against FrontEnd HttpProxy endpoints, and check for malicious files or webshells under inetpub\wwwroot\aspnet_client, given the known ransomware use.

9.1100% KEV ransomware PoC ×4
  • Microsoft Exchange Server On-premises Exchange Server editions supported in the vendor's March 2021 guidance (Exchange Server 2013, 2016, and 2019), prior to the March 2021 security upda
masshundreds of thousands of on-premises deployments; tens of thousands of internet-exposed Exchange servers
Full article446 words · extracted from therecord.media · click to collapse

Less than one day after Russia and the US held bilateral talks ​​over the deployment of troops near Ukraine, US intelligence and law enforcement agencies issued a warning to critical infrastructure operators about threats from Russian state-sponsored hackers.

The alert, jointly authored by the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and the National Security Agency, disclosed commonly observed tactics, techniques, and procedures (TTPs) used by the threat actors, as well as guidance on incident response and mitigation.

“CISA, the FBI, and NSA encourage the cybersecurity community—especially critical infrastructure network defenders—to adopt a heightened state of awareness and to conduct proactive threat hunting,” the report reads.

Logging is key! With Russian focus on persistent access to compromised networks, you need robust logs and focused effort to hunt, find, and kick them out. https://t.co/hDznXvZCqu

— Rob Joyce (@NSA_CSDirector) January 11, 2022

The advisory warned against “common but effective tactics” used to gain initial access to victim networks, including spearphishing, brute force attacks, and exploiting known vulnerabilities. In the past, Russian state-sponsored actors have used the following vulnerabilities to gain access to targeted systems:

But the alert also cautioned that actors have demonstrated “sophisticated tradecraft and cyber capabilities” by launching attacks using compromised third-party infrastructure and software, or deploying custom malware.

The agencies have issued a number of reports and advisories related to Russia-linked hacks in recent years, and the guidance issued Tuesday will likely be read by cybersecurity professionals as a warning to be on the lookout for certain malicious behavior. It references previous attacks including Russian state-sponsored actors targeting state, local, tribal, and territorial government networks in 2020, energy sector intrusions between 2011 and 2018, and a widely-reported campaign against Ukrainian critical infrastructure in 2015 and 2016.

In that last incident, Russian-linked hackers attacked Ukrainian energy companies leading to broad power outages. The attacks used malware to make computers inoperable and disrupt power grids.

As the conflict between Ukraine and Russia continues to escalate, the US and Britain in recent weeks sent cyberwarfare experts to Ukraine to better prepare the country for attacks on the electric grid and other critical infrastructure components, The New York Times reported.

No previous article

No new articles

Adam Janofsky

is the founding editor-in-chief of The Record from Recorded Future News. He previously was the cybersecurity and privacy reporter for Protocol, and prior to that covered cybersecurity, AI, and other emerging technology for The Wall Street Journal.

Text extracted automatically; images, tables and formatting may be missing. Original: https://therecord.media/us-warns-of-russian-state-sponsored-attacks-on-critical-infrastructure