Attackers chained two PaperCut NG/MF zero-days for unauthenticated access, installing SimpleHelp and AnyDesk remote access tools on compromised servers.
An ongoing campaign exploits chained zero-days CVE-2026-81578 (improper access control) and CVE-2026-82078 (unsafe dynamic class loading) in internet-facing PaperCut NG and MF Application Servers, enabling authentication bypass and arbitrary Java bytecode execution. Post-compromise activity includes user and domain enumeration, payload download from sendit.sh, and silent installation of SimpleHelp and AnyDesk for redundant remote access; Defused observed CVE-2026-81578/CVE-2026-82078 exploit activity in honeypots since August 29, including data theft via Derby database dumps. Emergency patches were released August 28 and August 30, but 47% of roughly 2,500 PaperCut installs tracked by Huntress run v23 or older, for which no patch is available.
ServiceNow patched four AI Platform flaws, including three pre-authentication CVSS 10.0 issues enabling unauthenticated code execution, SQL injection, and privilege escalation.
ServiceNow released patches on August 27, 2026 for four AI Platform flaws: CVE-2026-18885 (code injection in the GraphQL Composite Data API), CVE-2026-18886 (improper access control enabling privilege escalation), and CVE-2026-74820 (SQL injection), all self-rated CVSS 10.0 and exploitable without authentication, plus CVE-2026-6876, an 8.7 sandbox escape. Updates were deployed to hosted instances, but self-hosted customers must patch affected Xanadu, Yokohama, Zurich, and Australia release lines themselves. ServiceNow says it is not aware of exploitation of the new flaws, and no public exploit code existed as of August 28, 2026; separately, Defused reported in-the-wild exploitation of the earlier CVE-2026-6875 (CVSS 9.5), later noting the captured payload matched Searchlight Cyber's PoC.
ReliaQuest details a bespoke JSP web shell that Clop deploys on hacked PTC Windchill and FlexPLM servers after exploiting CVE-2026-12569.
ReliaQuest analyzed a custom Java web shell planted on vulnerable PTC Windchill and FlexPLM servers following exploitation of CVE-2026-12569 (CVSS 9.3). The implant decrypts Windchill keystore credentials including the LDAP manager password, enumerates the file vault for engineering data, and loads attacker-supplied Java classes in memory for post-exploitation. Commands let operators read and delete files, exfiltrate results, and deliver follow-on payloads such as ransomware. Ransom-ISAC, eCrime.ch and Defused previously attributed the campaign to the Clop data-theft extortion group.
CISA adds actively exploited flaws in Microsoft IKE, SharePoint, VMware vCenter, and macOS Screen Sharing to KEV catalog, due August 21.
CISA added four vulnerabilities to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog: CVE-2026-33824 (Windows IKE remote code execution, CVSS 9.8), CVE-2026-55040 (SharePoint JWT authentication bypass, CVSS 9.1), CVE-2026-59310 (VMware vCenter Syslog path traversal, CVSS 9.8), and CVE-2026-65400 (macOS Screen Sharing improper authentication). The SharePoint flaw combines four weaknesses including alg:none JWT forging to impersonate any user, with Defused researchers observing attackers using Rapid7's PoC against honeypots. The Dutch NCSC confirmed active exploitation of the macOS Screen Sharing flaw on August 15, 2026. Federal agencies must patch by August 21, 2026.
Attackers are actively exploiting critical SharePoint authentication bypass CVE-2026-55040 (CVSS 9.1) days after Rapid7 released a public PoC.
CVE-2026-55040 is a critical authentication bypass (CVSS 9.1) in SharePoint Server Subscription Edition that lets unauthenticated attackers forge JWT tokens and impersonate any user, including administrators. Microsoft patched it in July 2026 Patch Tuesday, but Rapid7 published a technical write-up and Python PoC on GitHub on August 12, and Defused quickly observed attackers running the PoC against SharePoint honeypots. KEVIntel recorded 12 exploitation attempts since July 19, with eight occurring on August 12-13 from IP addresses in Hong Kong, Japan, the Netherlands, Taiwan and the U.S. Admin-level SharePoint access exposes documents and data modification and can serve as a foothold into broader Microsoft 365 infrastructure; unpatched instances should apply the July update immediately.
Attackers use Rapid7's public PoC to exploit CVE-2026-55040, a critical SharePoint authentication bypass patched in July 2026.
Rapid7 researcher Stephen Fewer published technical analysis and PoC exploit code for CVE-2026-55040, an authentication bypass in SharePoint caused by flaws in the JWT token validation pipeline. Threat intelligence firm Defused observed attackers using the PoC against SharePoint honeypots, though Microsoft has not yet confirmed in-the-wild exploitation. Chained with CVE-2026-63520, the flaw can yield unauthenticated remote code execution, per NHS England Digital. CISA is urging administrators to harden SharePoint deployments by limiting direct internet exposure and using Layer 7 reverse proxies.
Authentication Bypass in Microsoft SharePoint Server
Microsoft SharePoint Server is affected by a weak authentication vulnerability (CWE-1390) that allows an unauthorized attacker to bypass a security feature over a network. Per the CVSS vector, exploitation requires no privileges and no user interaction with low attack complexity, so any unauthenticated attacker with network access to a vulnerable server can trigger it remotely. Impact to confidentiality and integrity is rated high (CVSS 9.1, critical), meaning the bypass effectively grants the attacker access that authentication should have prevented, with no direct availability impact. All organizations running on-premises Microsoft SharePoint Server are potentially affected; the source data does not specify affected version ranges or fixed builds, so defenders should consult Microsoft's advisory for those details. The flaw is under active exploitation: a public proof-of-concept is available on GitHub, attackers began exploiting it after the PoC went public, and CISA added it to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18 (EPSS ~40%, 99th percentile; ransomware association unknown).
Unauthenticated Path Traversal RCE in Broadcom VMware vCenter Server Syslog
CVE-2026-59310 is a directory traversal (CWE-22) vulnerability in the Syslog server component of VMware vCenter Server, rated critical at CVSS 9.8. It can be triggered over the network without authentication or user interaction, allowing a malicious actor with network access to vCenter to achieve arbitrary code execution. An attacker who exploits it gains code execution on the vCenter appliance, and reported campaigns show it has been used to establish persistent remote access and, by a suspected China-nexus actor, to deploy Babuk ransomware. Any organization running an affected version of vCenter Server is exposed, especially where the management interface is reachable from the internet; the available data does not specify affected version ranges. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: CISA added the flaw to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18, it was reportedly exploited just five days after disclosure, and EPSS estimates a 45.9% probability of exploitation within 30 days (99th percentile).
· Broadcom (VMware) vCenter Server KEV ransomwarelarge
Unauthenticated Double-Free RCE in Microsoft Windows IKE Extension
A double-free memory-corruption flaw (CWE-415) in the Microsoft Windows Internet Key Exchange (IKE) service extension allows a remote, unauthenticated attacker to trigger the bug with crafted network traffic, with no privileges or user interaction required. Successful exploitation yields remote code execution with full system impact, reflected in the critical 9.8 CVSS score (high confidentiality, integrity, and availability). The vulnerable IKE component is present in Windows 10 (1607, 1809, 21H2, 22H2), Windows 11 (23H2, 24H2, 25H2, 26H1), and Windows Server 2016, 2019, and 2022 (including 23H2), which ship it as a built-in feature. CISA added the flaw to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18, and security reporting confirms it is being actively exploited in the wild, though ransomware use is not yet confirmed. No public proof-of-concept is known, but the high EPSS score (72.7%, 99th percentile) signals a very strong likelihood of imminent or ongoing exploitation.
· Microsoft Windows 10 1607 · Microsoft Windows 10 1809 KEVmass
Unsafe Reflection RCE in PaperCut NG/MF, Chained with Auth Bypass in Attacks
CVE-2026-82078 is an unsafe dynamic class loading flaw (unsafe reflection, CWE-470) in the database connection utilities of PaperCut NG and PaperCut MF: the software instantiates a database driver class based on a configurable driver name without validating it against an allowlist of approved drivers. An attacker who can manipulate system configuration parameters can point that setting at classes of their choosing, causing the server to execute arbitrary Java bytecode residing on the application classpath in the security context of the PaperCut server process. On its own the issue is rated 9.4 (Critical) with high privileges required, but when chained with the companion authentication bypass CVE-2026-81578 it yields unauthenticated remote code execution on the print-management server. All PaperCut NG and MF deployments are in scope; affected version ranges were not specified in the available data, so administrators should consult PaperCut's advisory for fixed versions. The flaw is confirmed exploited in the wild as a zero-day: it was added to CISA's KEV catalog on 2026-08-31, and public reporting describes an AI-orchestrated campaign that compromised PaperCut servers at roughly 395 organizations (~440 servers), with EPSS currently at 1.7% (76th percentile).
PTC Windchill and FlexPLM contain an improper input validation flaw (CWE-20) with an associated deserialization of untrusted data weakness (CWE-502) that allows an unauthenticated, remote attacker to execute arbitrary code by sending a malicious request over the network. An attacker who can reach a vulnerable Windchill or FlexPLM server can run arbitrary code on it, potentially gaining a foothold for lateral movement; CISA notes the flaw is being used in ransomware campaigns. All organizations running PTC Windchill or FlexPLM are affected, and the available data does not specify affected version ranges. The vulnerability was added to CISA's Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-06-25 with known ransomware use, and EPSS assigns a 40.6% probability of exploitation within 30 days (99th percentile). No CVSS score or public proof-of-concept is available yet, but the KEV listing confirms exploitation in the wild.
Missing Authentication for Critical Function in PaperCut NG/MF Web Interface
CVE-2026-81578 is an improper access control flaw (CWE-305) in the web management interface of PaperCut MF and PaperCut NG in which administrative requests from unauthenticated remote users trigger backend actions before access validation completes. An attacker can invoke administrative functions without logging in, allowing modification of certain system configurations. When chained with CVE-2026-82078 (unsafe dynamic class loading), the flaw has been used to achieve unauthenticated code execution. Any organization running PaperCut NG/MF, particularly servers whose web management interface is reachable from the internet or untrusted networks, is affected. The vulnerability was added to CISA KEV on 2026-08-31 and is being exploited in the wild as part of an AI-orchestrated campaign that compromised roughly 395–440 organizations.
Unauthenticated SQL Injection in ServiceNow AI Platform
CVE-2026-74820 is a critical (CVSS 4.0: 10.0) SQL injection flaw (CWE-89) in the ServiceNow AI platform that an unauthenticated attacker can, in certain circumstances, trigger remotely over the network. Successful exploitation allows arbitrary SQL statements to be executed against the instance's underlying database, giving the attacker access to or the ability to modify instance data beyond what was intended, with the CVSS scoring indicating high impact to confidentiality, integrity, and availability. Any organization running an unpatched ServiceNow instance is affected, but ServiceNow has already deployed the security update to its hosted instances, so remaining exposure is concentrated among self-hosted customers and partners who must apply the provided update themselves. There is currently no known malicious exploitation: EPSS assigns a 0.2% probability of exploitation within 30 days, the flaw is not in CISA KEV, and no public proof-of-concept is known.
Improper Access Control (Privilege Escalation) in ServiceNow AI Platform
CVE-2026-18886 is an improper access control vulnerability (CWE-284) in the ServiceNow AI Platform that, in certain circumstances, allows an unauthenticated remote user to create or modify instance data beyond what was intended. Because the flaw is reachable over the network with no privileges or user interaction required, an attacker who meets the advisory's conditions can manipulate instance data and achieve privilege escalation. Successful exploitation carries high impact to the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of the affected instance (CVSS 4.0 score of 10.0). Customers running affected ServiceNow AI Platform releases are potentially affected; ServiceNow has already deployed the security update to hosted instances, while self-hosted customers and partners must apply the provided update themselves. No exploitation has been observed to date (EPSS 0.2%, not listed in CISA KEV, no public proof-of-concept).
Unauthenticated Remote Code Execution in ServiceNow AI Platform
ServiceNow has patched a critical, unauthenticated remote code execution vulnerability (CWE-94, code injection) in the ServiceNow AI platform that is reachable over the network without credentials or user interaction, though exploitation requires certain circumstances to be met (CVSS 4.0 attack complexity is high). A remote attacker who successfully triggers the flaw can execute code within the ServiceNow platform, with potentially high impact on the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of the instance and its data. Both ServiceNow-hosted (SaaS) instances and self-hosted customer and partner deployments are affected; hosted instances were fixed via a centrally deployed security update, while self-hosted customers and partners must apply the provided security updates or patched family releases themselves. ServiceNow's advisory states it was not initially aware of exploitation, but subsequent security reporting indicates this pre-auth RCE has been exploited in the wild. There is no known public proof-of-concept and the flaw is not yet in CISA's KEV catalog, but EPSS assigns a 77.6% probability of exploitation within 30 days.
· ServiceNow AI Platform (hosted/SaaS instances) · ServiceNow AI Platform (self-hosted customer and partner deployments)mass
Unauthenticated RCE in Microsoft SharePoint Server
CVE-2026-63520 is an improper input validation flaw (CWE-20) in Microsoft Office SharePoint, affecting on-premises SharePoint Server deployments. A remote, unauthenticated attacker can trigger the flaw by sending improperly validated input to the SharePoint service over the network; the high attack complexity (AC:H) indicates exploitation depends on specific conditions, but no privileges or user interaction are required. Successful exploitation results in arbitrary code execution on the server, with high impact to confidentiality, integrity, and availability — effectively full compromise of the SharePoint host. Organizations running self-hosted SharePoint Server are in scope; SharePoint Online/Microsoft 365 is not listed in the affected products. The issue is patched as of Microsoft's Patch Tuesday (headlines mark it FIXED), with Rapid7 analysis and a researcher-disclosed exploit chain available, but there is no public PoC, no CISA KEV listing, and no confirmed in-the-wild exploitation; EPSS puts exploitation probability at 2.9% (86th percentile).
· Microsoft SharePoint Server (Office SharePoint, on-premises)mass
Entities are extracted by the model from each article. Watching an entity keeps it in this browser only (no account); the watchlist page and dashboard alerts use it.