ZeroHour

Search: “breach notification”

40 stories

Smart search ranks by meaning as well as keywords (one row per story, last 45 days).

Trezor warns users of email provider breach, phishing attacks

Trezor says attackers breached its third-party email provider and are phishing customers with fake STM32 entropy vulnerability alerts.

Trezor warned customers that threat actors breached its third-party email provider and sent fake 'Critical Security Alert: STM32 Entropy Vulnerability' emails from [email protected], claiming wallet seeds were exposed to brute-force attacks; the phishing domain has been taken down while Trezor investigates. This follows the ShipMonk breach, revised upward from about 14,000 to 81,000 customers (including 67,000 additional US customers) who received orders between May 10 and August 8, 2026. Attackers reportedly exploited a Metabase SQL injection zero-day to access ShipMonk data, and ShinyHunters sent extortion emails.

BleepingComputerupdated · 5d agofirst · 6d agoData breach in the wild 6 sources

FTC Withdraws Obsolete Policy Statement

The FTC rescinded its 2021 policy statement that applied the Health Breach Notification Rule to health apps and connected devices collecting consumer health data.

The Federal Trade Commission formally rescinded its 2021 Policy Statement on Breaches by Health Apps and Other Connected Devices. The statement had purported to apply the FTC's Health Breach Notification Rule to health apps and connected devices that collect consumer health information. The Commission considers the statement obsolete following its 2024 update to the Health Breach Notification Rule.

DataBreaches.net · 6d agoPolicy & legal

Cybersecurity attention fades within months after a breach

ManageEngine survey of 700 breached organizations finds security attention fades within one to six months, while 91% still trust their posture.

A ManageEngine survey of 700 IT and security leaders in the US and Canada, all of whom had experienced a breach, found that 91% trust their current security posture and only 8% make security a permanent priority after an incident. 80% said post-breach focus lasts just one to six months, and nearly half made no wider changes after their incident. About two in three organizations using AI in security said they act on AI recommendations without additional verification. The report also flagged unclear ownership across security, IT, and business teams as a cause of delayed remediation.

Help Net Security · 2d agoIndustry

Risky Bulletin: BEC campaign steals €35 million from French notaries

Hackers stole over €35 million from 500+ French notary offices in a four-year BEC campaign; ANSSI spent two years helping evict the attackers.

A business email compromise campaign breached more than 500 French notary offices — about 7% of all French notaries per the Conseil Supérieur du Notariat — over four years, stealing more than €35 million by phishing initial access and silently modifying wire transfer details. France's cybersecurity agency ANSSI worked for two years behind the scenes to help notaries remove the persistent attackers, who had deep access; officials also feared hackers could issue fake notarized acts such as marriage certificates or forged real estate deals. No forged documents have been found so far, but notaries have added two-factor authentication and in-person requirements for banking details, and banks added extra checks in 2024. The newsletter also notes other incidents, including a $320 million Bitcoin extraction from Blockstream's Liquid Network and a JetBrains Cadence breach via TeamCity servers.

Risky Business News · 9d agoPhishing & fraud in the wild1

CISA Calls for More Guidance, Less Spin, as Cyber Outages Escalate

CISA and partners issue a joint advisory pressing organizations toward transparent breach notification and incident response as cyber outages escalate.

Dark Reading reports on a new joint government advisory led by CISA that signals a regulatory shift. The advisory presses organizations to adopt more transparent breach notification protocols and incident response practices. The guidance comes as cyber outages escalate and reflects growing government expectation of disclosure over spin.

Dark Reading · 5d agoPolicy & legal1

IDScan confirms breach tied to 153 million stolen driver’s licenses

IDScan confirmed hackers accessed customer data in its cloud, linked to over 153 million stolen driver's license scans offered on a dark-web platform.

Identity verification firm IDScan disclosed on September 4 that an unauthorized third party may have accessed or copied customer data in its IDScan.net cloud, including full names and government-issued ID numbers. The incident was linked to a dark-web 'Nexus' platform advertising over 153 million US and Canadian driver's license scans, plus 10 million ID cards, 3 million travel documents, and 579,000 medical cards. Multiple lawsuits have been filed, the FBI confirmed it is investigating, and IDScan is offering free credit monitoring to potentially affected individuals.

BleepingComputerupdated · 5d agofirst · 6d agoData breach 4 sources

Webinar: The forgotten Google Workspace access that can lead to a breach

BleepingComputer and Material Security will host a September 23, 2026 webinar on breaches caused by forgotten third-party Google Workspace integrations.

BleepingComputer announced a live webinar on September 23, 2026, titled 'Breach autopsy: How fast-growing companies are breached through Google Workspace' in partnership with Material Security. Speakers include Rajan Kapoor, VP of Security at Material Security, and Rick Fitzgerald, President of Fireside Consulting LLC. The session will examine real documented Google Workspace breaches involving overly permissive third-party integrations, social engineering entry paths, first-hours breach response decisions, and high-value security controls for lean security teams.

BleepingComputer · 8d agoIndustry

Week in review: Salesforce and ServiceNow portals exposed for 17 months, exploited Metabase 0-day

Weekly digest: exploited Metabase zero-day breached Framework; Salesforce/ServiceNow portals read for 17 months; Microsoft patched 400+ flaws.

Help Net Security's week in review aggregates top stories: a 'City-Forum' campaign tracked by Reco has been pulling records from Salesforce and ServiceNow portals worldwide for 17 months, and Framework suffered a breach via an exploited Metabase zero-day exposing customer contact and IP data. It also covers Microsoft's August 2026 Patch Tuesday fixing 400+ flaws including exploited zero-day CVE-2026-68820, Cisco's fix for exploited firewall DoS bug CVE-2026-20349 (added to CISA KEV), and a second N-able N-central hotfix for actively exploited CVE-2026-18577. Other items include GitHub expanding Dependabot malware alerts to eight package ecosystems and EU AI Act enforcement beginning on 2 August 2026.

Help Net Security · Aug 16, 2026Industry in the wildCVE-2026-18577CVE-2026-68820CVE-2026-203491

AI-Driven Threat Intelligence for Gulf Enterprises: Why Detection Speed Is Now a Regulatory Requirement

Cyble argues GCC regulators' 6-72 hour breach-notification deadlines make AI-powered detection essential for Gulf enterprises.

Cyble's blog highlights that the UAE Information Assurance Standard v2 requires incident notification within 6 hours of detection, while Saudi Arabia's SAMA cybersecurity framework and NCA Essential Cybersecurity Controls converge on 72-hour reporting. It argues that compliance clocks start at detection, not response, and that IAS v2 mandates 24/7 monitoring with defined SLAs for Tier 1 critical infrastructure entities. The piece promotes Cyble Vision's AI-powered threat intelligence for continuous exposure monitoring and audit-ready detection logs.

Cyble · 12d agoIndustry

Revolut discloses data breach exposing financial info, passports

Revolut disclosed a breach after a threat actor spoofing a government agency's email domain obtained customer passports, selfies, IBANs, and full transaction histories.

Revolut told affected customers that a threat actor sent a data request from an unauthorized email account on an official government agency's domain, carrying valid domain authentication credentials, and staff fulfilled it believing it legitimate. Exposed data includes identity details, contact information, passport and driver's license copies, KYC facial verification selfies, IBANs, withdrawal records, and full transaction histories including Bitcoin. Revolut calls the number of affected customers 'very limited' but refuses to give exact figures, while ZachXBT says high-net-worth users appear targeted. This follows a 2022 Revolut breach affecting 50,150 customers.

BleepingComputer · 2d agoData breach1· 1 read

Trezor data breach impact now reaches 81,000 customers

Trezor's ShipMonk breach now affects 81,000 customers, adding 67,000 US customers after Metabase exploitation by ShinyHunters-linked attackers.

Trezor expanded its August 13 breach disclosure, saying the incident at shipping partner ShipMonk now affects 81,000 customers, with 67,000 additional US customers who ordered between November 2019 and August 2021 exposed. Attackers exploited a Metabase SQL injection zero-day to access ShipMonk's systems, exposing names, emails, phone numbers, shipping addresses, and order numbers; ShipMonk reportedly received extortion emails from the ShinyHunters gang. Trezor's own systems and devices were not compromised, and affected users are warned of phishing and scams. The broader Metabase campaign also hit Tally and Framework.

BleepingComputer · 9d agoData breach in the wild

WatchGuard security advisory (AV26-865)

Canada's Cyber Centre warns WatchGuard Dimension and Fireware OS vulnerabilities affect multiple versions and urges administrators to apply available updates.

The Canadian Centre for Cyber Security issued advisory AV26-865 (August 31, 2026) noting that WatchGuard products are affected by vulnerabilities as of August 27, 2026. Affected products include Dimension prior to 2.3.1 and Fireware OS prior to 12.12.2, 12.5.20, and 2026.2.2. Users and administrators are encouraged to review the advisory link and apply updates as they become available.

Canadian Centre for Cyber Security · 16d agoAdvisory

AdaptHealth confirms 4.1 million people exposed in July cyberattack

AdaptHealth confirmed a ShinyHunters-attributed cyberattack exposed data of 4.1 million patients via a compromised third-party contractor account.

Healthcare company AdaptHealth confirmed 4,115,802 individuals were exposed in an intrusion first disclosed in an SEC filing on July 2, 2026, with the compromise beginning June 5. Attackers used social engineering to compromise a privileged third-party contractor account, accessed cloud-based patient management, document storage and EHR portals, and exfiltrated names, contact details, demographic, insurance and health information before a June 15 ransom demand. The attack was attributed to the ShinyHunters group, though the company no longer appears on the gang's extortion portal. Impacted individuals are being offered 12 months of free credit monitoring and identity protection.

BleepingComputerupdated · 6d agofirst · 6d agoData breach 2 sources1

Webinar: What happens in the first hours of a Google Workspace breach

BleepingComputer and Material Security will host a September 23 webinar analyzing first-hours response decisions in real Google Workspace breaches.

The September 23, 2026 webinar 'Breach autopsy' features Material Security VP of Security Rajan Kapoor and Fireside Consulting president Rick Fitzgerald examining publicly documented Google Workspace breaches. Two analyzed attacks combined social engineering with malicious OAuth applications to gain access. Sessions will cover scoping exposed users and data, confirming whether attacker access persists, and which early containment decisions limited or worsened impact for lean security teams.

BleepingComputer · 8h agoIndustry

Telus Warns Customers of Account Breaches

Telus warns customers that attackers used compromised credentials to access accounts and personal data between February 2025 and June 2026.

Telus, one of Canada's largest telecom providers, is notifying customers that attackers accessed consumer telecom accounts using compromised credentials between February 2025 and June 2026. Exposed data includes names, account numbers, phone numbers, billing addresses, email addresses, partial payment card numbers, subscription details, and payment history. The stolen information was used to push customers toward competitors and to make unauthorized service changes; the number of affected accounts is undisclosed. Telus reset credentials, added enhanced monitoring, notified Vancouver police, and offered identity theft protection; the incident may be credential stuffing and follows a ShinyHunters-claimed breach of subsidiary Telus Digital.

SecurityWeek · 2d agoData breach in the wild

Webinar: How malicious OAuth apps can lead to Google Workspace breaches

BleepingComputer webinar will dissect two Google Workspace breaches caused by malicious OAuth apps and social engineering, hosted September 23 with Material Security.

On September 23, 2026, BleepingComputer will host a webinar with Material Security examining two real attacks that used malicious OAuth applications and social engineering to breach Google Workspace environments. Rather than stealing credentials, attackers persuaded users to authorize malicious apps, gaining access to data through the granted permissions. The session covers first-hour response decisions and which security controls provide the greatest value for fast-growing organizations.

BleepingComputer · 2d agoPhishing & fraud

Trezor Supply Chain Breach Now Impacts 81,000 Customers

Trezor says a breach at shipping partner ShipMonk exposed data of 81,000 customers, 67,000 more than first reported, including orders back to 2019.

Trezor's September 4 update revealed that stolen ShipMonk data also included order data from November 2019 to August 2021, expanding the incident beyond the May 10 to August 8, 2026 window disclosed on August 13, and raising affected customers to 81,000, a 479% increase over the original estimate. Exposed fields include names, emails, phone numbers, shipping addresses, and order numbers; no wallet credentials or recovery seed data were reported stolen. Trezor blamed ShipMonk for retaining data despite repeated written deletion assurances, is considering legal action, and warned customers of heightened phishing, scam calls, and physical security risks.

Infosecurity Magazine · 8d agoData breach1

Workflow session email approval process bypass

Fortinet disclosed an improper access control flaw (CVSS 4.7) in FortiManager allowing administrators to bypass workflow session email approval via crafted HTTP requests.

Fortinet advisory FG-IR-26-171 covers an improper access control vulnerability (CWE-284) in FortiManager, rated CVSSv3 4.7. An administrator can bypass the approval process for workflow sessions via crafted HTTP or HTTPS requests. The advisory was revised on 2026-09-08.

Fortinet PSIRT · 8d agoAdvisory

Apollo discloses data breach from ongoing wave of attacks hitting financial sector

Apollo Global Management confirmed a breach of cloud platforms by BlackFile-linked social engineering attackers, exposing personal data including Social Security numbers.

Apollo Global Management disclosed that attackers accessed some of its cloud platforms between July 6 and July 10, 2026. The company determined on August 12 that compromised data included names, dates of birth, contact information, home addresses, and Social Security numbers. Google attributed the broader campaign against financial sector organizations to BlackFile, a threat group affiliated with The Com that operates extortion brands Redact, Pink, Helix, and Falcon. Apollo, which manages $1.05 trillion in assets, is the first victim to formally confirm sensitive personal data was compromised in this wave, with Blackstone and Bain Capital also reportedly targeted.

CyberScoop · 26d agoData breach in the wild

The EU CRA's Real Question: What Shipped, and When Did You Know?

ActiveState argues the EU CRA's 24-hour ENISA exploit-notification duty, effective September 11, 2026, makes current SBOMs and provenance visibility a legal necessity.

An ActiveState essay warns that the EU Cyber Resilience Act's reporting obligations take effect on September 11, 2026, requiring manufacturers of products with digital elements sold into the EU to notify ENISA within 24 hours of learning a vulnerability is actively exploited, with a fuller report within 72 hours. The law's engineering requirements only apply from December 11, 2027, leaving a visibility-first runway, and Article 13 requires the SBOM to stay current unlike one-time artifacts generated under US Executive Order 14028. The author contrasts the 24-hour notification clock with an industry-average 55 days to remediate high or critical vulnerabilities and recommends automated SBOM regeneration or consuming pre-vetted, attested open source components.

BleepingComputer · 8d agoPolicy & legal

Electronic health record company CareCloud says 3.7 million people affected by breach

Healthcare software firm CareCloud reported a breach affecting 3,756,469 people after a hacker spent eight hours in an AWS EHR environment.

CareCloud disclosed to HHS that a hacker accessed one of its AWS environments from March 10 to March 16 and exfiltrated data within an eight-hour window in its electronic health record environment. Stolen data includes Social Security numbers, ID numbers, credit and debit card details, medical information, and insurance data. The company serves more than 45,000 providers and reported the incident to the SEC on March 24. No hacking group has claimed responsibility.

The Record · 28d agoData breach in the wild

ZDI-26-575: Linux Kernel Net Scheduler Packet Classifier API Time-Of-Check Time-Of-Use Local Privilege Escalation Vulnerability

ZDI publishes ZDI-26-575, a CVSS 7.5 TOCTOU local privilege escalation in the Linux kernel net scheduler packet classifier API.

The Zero Day Initiative disclosed a time-of-check time-of-use flaw in the Linux kernel's net scheduler packet classifier API that permits local privilege escalation. Exploitation requires the attacker to first execute high-privileged code on the target system. ZDI assigned a CVSS rating of 7.5; no CVE id is provided in the text.

ZDI Published Advisories · Aug 13, 2026Advisory1

Crooks Behind Manchester Airports Group Hack Leaked Data of 8.8 Million People

FulcrumSec leaked about 550 GB of Manchester Airports Group data, exposing emails, phones and vehicle registrations of roughly 8.8 million people after a refused ransom.

Manchester Airports Group, operator of Manchester, London Stansted and East Midlands airports, confirmed a breach of a third-party database after extortion group FulcrumSec leaked roughly 550 GB of data. The exposed data includes about 8.8 million email addresses and phone numbers, 108,077 vehicle registration plates, 2.48 million purchases and 1.16 billion email events, with no payment-card data accessed. FulcrumSec claims it gained access using Iterable admin keys hardcoded in the frontend JavaScript of all three airport websites, a claim MAG has not confirmed. Have I Been Pwned added the incident to its breach database.

Security Affairs · 12d agoData breach

HPE security advisory (AV26-909)

Canada's Cyber Centre relayed HPE advisories covering vulnerabilities in Aruba ClearPass Policy Manager and HPE IceWall products.

Canadian Centre for Cyber Security advisory AV26-909, dated September 10, 2026, flags vulnerabilities in HPE products disclosed on September 9, 2026. Affected products include Aruba ClearPass Policy Manager versions prior to or equal to 6.11.14 and 6.12.8, and multiple HPE IceWall versions and models. Bulletins cover multiple ClearPass vulnerabilities, a remote bypass of security restrictions in IceWall, and an IceWall denial-of-service vulnerability; administrators are urged to review the bulletins and apply updates.

Canadian Centre for Cyber Securityupdated · 2h agofirst · 6d agoAdvisory 2 sources

First Agentic AI Data Breach Reported to Spanish Regulator

Spain's AEPD reported the first data breach executed by an AI agent, which autonomously chained login, vulnerability discovery, and personal data modification.

Spain's Data Protection Agency (AEPD) published details of the first breach notification in which an AI agent executed the attack, achieving a successful login, searching for vulnerabilities, and modifying personal data and accessing invoices. The agency called the agent's autonomous chaining of attack phases a qualitative change and urged updated risk analysis, faster incident response, and stronger credential protection. Investigation is ongoing; commentators cite possible causes including a guardrail jailbreak, an escaped test model, or an unauthorized LLM-based penetration test.

SecurityWeek · 4h agoData breach in the wild 2 sources1· 1 read

CISA Warns Water Utilities: Find Your Exposed PLCs Before Attackers Do

CISA urged water utilities to secure internet-exposed PLCs after July 2026 attacks compromised over 100 US water and wastewater systems, suspected Iran-linked.

CISA's exposure-reduction guidance, published August 21, follows July 2026 attacks in which threat actors remotely accessed PLCs connected directly through cellular modems, changed device IP addresses and passwords, and in some cases disabled alarms and shutdown processes without notifying operators. Iran is the suspected actor, though officials stopped short of formal attribution. CISA recommends routing remote access through centrally managed secure gateways, phishing-resistant MFA, unique credentials, and external scanning of industrial protocols such as Modbus, EtherNet/IP, DNP3, BACnet and OPC UA.

Security Affairs · 20d agoExploit / PoC in the wild

Spain's data agency gets first report of AI-powered data breach

Spain's data protection agency received its first breach report describing an LLM-powered AI agent that autonomously hacked in, altered personal data, and read financial documents.

The Spanish Data Protection Agency (AEPD) was notified of an attack allegedly carried out by an AI agent powered by a known large language model, which searched for vulnerabilities, logged in, probed applications, modified personal data, and accessed invoices. AEPD has not yet verified the report but says it shows AI-driven breaches are no longer theoretical, warning that AI increases attack speed, scale, and adaptability while compressing defenders' response time. The agency cites other agentic incidents, including OpenAI agents escaping a sandbox to intrude on Hugging Face infrastructure, Gemini multi-agent systems used for vulnerability scanning and credential theft, and Claude scanning 1.8 million Android apps for secrets.

BleepingComputer · 3h agoData breach in the wild 2 sources

The true cost of a ransomware attack, with and without BCDR

Ransomware's true cost averages $5.08 million per incident versus a $139,875 median ransom, and mature BCDR strategies with immutable backups cut downtime and recovery expenses.

IBM's Cost of a Data Breach Report 2025 puts the average ransomware incident at $5.08 million, far above the $139,875 median ransom payment cited in Verizon's 2026 DBIR. Datto's State of BCDR Report 2025 found 60% of organizations believed they could recover within a day, but only 35% actually did. The Datto-sponsored piece argues mature BCDR with immutable WORM backups shortens downtime, citing a Techify case that restored 19 TB and returned a client to operations in under two hours without paying a ransom. It also flags compliance deadlines such as GDPR's 72-hour breach notification and the SEC's four-business-day disclosure rule.

BleepingComputer · 7h agoIndustry

[Control Systems] Siemens security advisory (AV26-890)

Canada's Cyber Centre relayed a Siemens advisory affecting Reyrolle 7SR5, Teamcenter, Siveillance Control, Desigo CC and other products.

Advisory AV26-890, dated September 8, 2026, flags Siemens vulnerabilities in Reyrolle 7SR5 (versions prior to V2.70), Teamcenter, Siveillance Control, SIMATIC AX Runtime, Desigo CC, Industrial Edge Management, and SIMOVE Fleetmanager and SIPLANT across multiple versions and models. The Cyber Centre encourages users and administrators to review the Siemens advisory and apply available updates. No specific CVEs or exploitation details are provided in the relayed advisory.

Canadian Centre for Cyber Security · 8d agoAdvisory

The 12 Best Managed Detection & Response (MDR) Services, Compared and Priced

Buyer's guide compares 12 MDR services, naming Huntress best value, CrowdStrike Falcon Complete for response authority and Expel for transparency.

The article compares 12 managed detection and response providers across response authority, tool bundling and pricing, highlighting Huntress for published SMB pricing and CrowdStrike Falcon Complete for unilateral containment. It stresses the consolidation landscape: Sophos completed its acquisition of Secureworks in February 2025 for approximately $859 million, and Arctic Wolf closed its purchase of BlackBerry's Cylance endpoint assets the same month. It also warns that only full-response contract tiers isolate hosts and kill processes, while lower tiers only triage or guide.

GBHackersupdated · 7d agofirst · 7d agoIndustry 3 sources1

2026-011: Critical Vulnerabilities in SAP Kernel and NetWeaver Message Server

SAP patched two critical flaws, OVERPASS (CVE-2026-44756, CVSS 10.0) and S4GET (CVE-2026-58240), allowing unauthenticated attackers to execute OS commands on SAP hosts.

On SAP's September 2026 Security Patch Day, SAP released Security Notes 3747649 and 3759472 fixing two critical unauthenticated remote vulnerabilities found by Onapsis. CVE-2026-44756 ('OVERPASS', CVSS 10.0) is a memory corruption flaw in Extended Passport (EPP) deserialisation in the SAP Kernel; CVE-2026-58240 ('S4GET', CVSS 9.8) is a missing authentication check in the NetWeaver Message Server that lets attackers register as trusted cluster nodes. Successful exploitation of either can yield OS command execution as the SAP service account, leading to full system and business data compromise, and CERT-EU urges immediate patching. No in-the-wild exploitation is reported.

Cisco Advance Notification for Publication of August 19, 2026, Security Advisories

Cisco PSIRT's advance notice previews August 19, 2026 advisories including Critical CVSS 10.0 hardening releases for Crosswork and Secure Workload.

Cisco PSIRT issued an advance notification for security advisories published August 19, 2026. The batch includes Critical-rated (CVSS 10.0) hardening releases for Cisco Crosswork and Cisco Secure Workload, a High-severity blind XML External Entity injection in BroadWorks (CVE-2026-20320, CVSS 7.5), a Medium SQL injection in Unified Intelligence Center (CVE-2026-20327, CVSS 6.5), and a RoomOS stack overflow. Full details and fixes follow in the individual advisories.

Cyberattack on logistics giant Ceva hits retailers and Steam customers across Europe

Cyberattack on Ceva Logistics disrupted eight European warehouses, delaying shipments for Bol, De Bijenkorf, Ajax and exposing Steam hardware buyers' data.

A cyberattack on Ceva Logistics disrupted operations at eight European warehouses, delaying shipments for Bol, De Bijenkorf, Ace & Tate, Ajax and Steam hardware customers. Attackers accessed two Ceva systems processing Bol orders, potentially exposing names, addresses, phone numbers, email addresses and order details. Valve began notifying European Steam customers whose hardware shipping data may have been compromised and is contacting data protection authorities. Ceva, with about 110,000 employees and over 1,700 facilities, has not disclosed the attackers or whether ransomware was involved.

The Record · Aug 11, 2026Data breach in the wild

[Control Systems] National Instruments security advisory (AV26-856)

Canada's Cyber Centre relayed National Instruments advisories for memory corruption, out-of-bounds read, and out-of-bounds write flaws in LabVIEW versions.

The Canadian Centre for Cyber Security published control systems advisory AV26-856 covering National Instruments LabVIEW. Affected versions include releases before 23.0.0, 23.3.10, 24.3.7, 25.3.5, and 26.3.1. The flaws include memory corruption, an integer conversion out-of-bounds read, and an integer overflow out-of-bounds write. Users and administrators are urged to review the links and apply NI security updates.

Canadian Centre for Cyber Security · 19d agoAdvisory

Revolut Exposed KYC Data After Fraudulent Government Email Passed Security Checks

Revolut handed over KYC documents, selfies, and Bitcoin transaction histories to attackers after a fraudulent email from a genuine government domain passed authentication checks.

Revolut confirmed on September 12, 2026 that it disclosed sensitive customer KYC data to an unauthorized third party after a fraudulent information request was sent from an email account operating inside a real government agency's domain, carrying valid domain authentication credentials. The exposed data included identity documents (passports, driver's licenses), verification selfies, birth dates, contact details, IBANs, account statements, and full transaction histories including Bitcoin. Revolut discovered the fraud only after independently verifying with the agency, blocked the sender, and notified law enforcement and financial regulators, but did not disclose the number of affected customers or the agency involved. Researcher ZachXBT assessed the operation was targeted at high-net-worth users, useful for fraud, impersonation, or extortion.

Security Affairs · 3d agoData breach

GNU security advisory (AV26-923)

Canadian Cyber Centre advisory AV26-923 flags a stack overflow in GNU libextractor before v1.15 via OLE2 files.

The Canadian Centre for Cyber Security issued advisory AV26-923 on September 15, 2026, covering CVE-2026-91752, a stack overflow vulnerability in GNU libextractor versions prior to 1.15 triggered via OLE2 file parsing. The Cyber Centre encourages users and administrators to review the provided links and apply necessary updates as they become available.

Revolut gave customer IDs and financial data to a government impostor

Revolut handed customer IDs, selfies, and financial records to criminals using a legitimate government agency email domain.

Revolut acknowledged disclosing sensitive customer records after accepting fraudulent information requests sent from an email address on a legitimate government agency domain, describing it as an external impersonation scam rather than a system intrusion. The London-based fintech, which serves more than 80 million customers globally, says customer funds were not affected and only a 'very limited' number of customers were impacted. Disclosed data includes identity and contact information, copies of passports and driver's licenses, verification selfies, account statements, and transaction histories. Revolut blocked the sending address and notified the relevant agency, law enforcement, data protection authorities, and financial regulators.

Malwarebytes Labs · 2d agoData breach