Anthropic says Claude users in Houthi-held northern Yemen attempted hypersonic missile and guidance software development; accounts were blocked, no operational weapon fielded.
Anthropic's third misuse report since March 2025, covering December through August, says users in northern Yemen ran three weapons programs, including a multi-variant hypersonic glide missile and a warhead maneuvered mid-course with mobile phone hardware. The users used Claude Code instead of human engineers to develop guidance, navigation and control software, conducted one failed guided rocket test, and built an offline simulation toolkit before Anthropic banned the accounts. Houthis denied relying on open sources for weapons development, and analysts noted they lack the industrial capacity to actually build hypersonic missiles.
SecurityWeek weekly roundup covers exploited WordPress Super Forms flaw CVE-2026-14894, a $10M bounty on an Iranian cyber official, InjectEave attacks, and more.
SecurityWeek's weekly roundup aggregates short items across the threat landscape, including Microsoft's report of invisible Unicode tag characters used in financial phishing lures at up to 2.37 million messages per day, and active exploitation of critical WordPress Super Forms plugin flaw CVE-2026-14894 to deploy PHP webshells. Policy items include a $10 million US bounty for IRGC-CEC Cyber Operations Command lead Amir Yaryab, a 16-month prison sentence for ex-AT&T employee Kenneth Carter over SIM swaps with nearly $600,000 in intended losses, and the US arraignment of Russian Sergei Anatolyevich Filimonov over credential harvesting. Technical items include InjectEave electromagnetic side-channel attacks tested on 11 devices, an FBI warning on OAuth consent phishing, and VulnCheck's finding that only 202 of 26,153 Anthropic Project Glasswing findings were fixed.
Researchers show super-apps like Russia's Max can silently capture mini-app UI, storage, network traffic, and authentication, enabling untraceable user impersonation.
The paper challenges the assumption that super-apps are trusted intermediaries, citing WeChat's passive cross-mini-app tracking, Russia's Max's entanglement with state prosecution of online speech, and Iran's Bale operating during a prolonged internet shutdown. Using Max as a case study, the authors demonstrate that a super-app can capture mini-app UI, read and write mini-app local storage, inject arbitrary JavaScript into mini-app runtimes, mediate network traffic, and control authentication context, enabling silent user impersonation without trace. They argue these capabilities are inherent to the super-app architecture and call for mobile OS and app store interventions to close the blind spot.
Microsoft's September Patch Tuesday fixes nearly 1,000 vulnerabilities; CISA warns two of the flaws are being actively exploited.
Microsoft's September 2026 Patch Tuesday release addresses close to 1,000 vulnerabilities, with CISA warning that two of the bugs are being actively exploited. The Record's homepage digest also lists briefs including a US offer of $10 million for information on an Iranian hacker accused of attacking critical infrastructure and a leak of health data on more than 9.5 million people from the Aesto record system. Additional briefs cover a Russian suspect's extradition to the US for bank account takeovers, US-British coordination on scam center takedowns, G7 guidance on quantum cyber threats, a large DDoS attack on Norwegian public services, and Slovenian casinos reopening after a cyberattack.
Google's Threat Intelligence Group warns AI now gives lesser-resourced criminal and nation-state attackers nation-state-level speed and scale, citing TeamPCP, Basin Castle, APT42, and APT24 usage.
GTIG documented throughout 2026 that adversaries increasingly use AI to automate and scale attacks. TeamPCP (UNC6780) used an AI coding chatbot with agent instructions to plan and execute a mass credential harvesting campaign in under six hours, and has compromised PyPI, npm, and Docker Hub since March 2026 with its Dustmaker credential stealer plus released tools Shai-Hulud and Miasma. PRC-nexus Basin Castle uses LLMs for target profiling, lure drafting, and malware development; APT42 (Calanque Ion) uses Gemini for OSINT and localized lures; APT24 (Ravine Castle) uses Gemini across the full attack lifecycle; and DPRK's Midnight Neptune (UNC1069) integrates AI into cryptocurrency theft. Google responds by disrupting attacker accounts and hardening models against distillation attacks.
Iran-linked Mirage Kitten targets software engineers with fake LinkedIn recruiter coding tests deploying new NodeRabbit and PollCat RATs.
Kaspersky researchers link the campaign to Mirage Kitten (also tracked as UNC1549, Smoke Sandstorm, Nimbus Manticore), with victims in aviation, aerospace and fintech in Egypt, Ethiopia and Afghanistan. Trojanized npm dependencies (colorized_terminal, pretty-log) bundled in coding-challenge archives launch the Node.js implants across Windows, Linux and macOS. NodeRabbit uses AES-256-GCM-encrypted C2 via Azure, and its third variant persists through a fake GitHub Copilot Helper VS Code extension plus Git post-merge/post-checkout hooks. PollCat is an obfuscated JavaScript RAT that registers with C2 before OTP authentication and inventories tools from 24 security vendors.
The U.S. State Department offered up to $10 million for information on Amir Yaryab, an IRGC cyber chief linked to critical infrastructure attacks.
The U.S. State Department's Rewards for Justice program offers up to $10 million for information identifying or locating Amir Yaryab, who allegedly oversees the Cyber Operations Command of Iran's IRGC Cyber-Electronic Command (IRGC-CEC). Officials tie him to units called Shahid Hemmat and Shahid Shushtari conducting cyber and information campaigns against defense, telecommunications, energy, and finance sectors across the US, Europe, and the Middle East, and to groups including CyberAv3ngers and Dadeh Afzar Arman. CyberAv3ngers compromised at least 75 Unitronics Vision Series PLCs, including 34 in US water and wastewater facilities, between November 2023 and January 2024.
State Department offers $10M reward for IRGC Cyber-Electronic Command chief Amir Yaryab over critical infrastructure cyberattacks across US, Europe, and Middle East.
The U.S. State Department posted a $10 million reward for information on senior Iranian official Amir Yaryab, who allegedly leads the IRGC's Cyber-Electronic Command (CEC) and directs hacking groups including CyberAv3ngers, Dadeh Afzar Arman (DAA), and Mehrsam Andisheh Saz Nik (MASN). These groups used malware to target defense, news, shipping, travel, energy, financial, and telecommunications sectors in the US, Europe, and the Middle East. The reward follows accusations of renewed Iranian attacks on water utilities, with over 100 entities breached across at least 12 US states since late July, and comes amid broader US-Iran tensions.
A ransomware gang hit Florida's St. Johns River Water Management District as CISA warned of IRGC-linked CyberAv3ngers attacks on exposed Unitronics water-sector PLCs.
The St. Johns River Water Management District, which oversees Florida drinking-water supply planning, confirmed suspicious activity in its IT environment and said containment measures were implemented; a ransomware gang claimed the attack and shared samples of stolen data. Separately, CISA, FBI, NSA, EPA and Israel's INCD warned that IRGC-affiliated CyberAv3ngers are actively compromising Israeli-made Unitronics Vision Series PLCs in the water sector using default credentials since at least November 22. The group, motivated by opposition to Israel-linked products, defaces controller interfaces and could cause deeper cyber-physical effects. Shadowserver found at least 539 Unitronics PLC instances still exposed online, and CNN reported fewer than 10 US water facilities faced recent attacks.
Hacktivist group Cyber Toufan claims 60 data breaches of Israeli and allied firms, wiping systems and erasing backups; Check Point links it to Iran.
The pro-Palestinian group Cyber Toufan said it released stolen data from 60 Israeli and foreign firms, including SpaceX, Toyota and IKEA, as part of a month-long leak operation launched in late November. Researchers at Check Point and SOC Radar assess the leaks are genuine, likely stemming partly from a major attack on Israeli hosting company Signature-IT, and attribute the group to Iran; researcher Kevin Beaumont said roughly a third of victims remain offline weeks later with backups erased. Google blocked the group's Telegram leak channel, while about 10 Iranian-backed hacking groups are assessed to be attacking Israel in the ongoing cyberwar.
OpenAI disrupted 20+ nation-state operations misusing ChatGPT, including CyberAv3ngers using it for reconnaissance and malware code debugging.
OpenAI's 54-page threat report detailed more than 20 disrupted operations by actors from China, Iran, Russia, Israel and other countries using ChatGPT for writing malware code, rewriting phishing emails and reconnaissance. Banned accounts linked to Iran's CyberAv3ngers (tied to the IRGC) queried default PLC credentials, asked about obfuscating malicious code and researched known vulnerabilities; OpenAI judged the AI use offered no novel capability. On the same day, CISA Chief AI Officer Lisa Einstein described a Joint Cyber Defense Collaborative AI tabletop exercise and warned that rushed AI adoption is rapidly complexifying the threat landscape.
US offers up to $10 million for information on CyberAv3ngers' 'Mr. Soul,' whose IOControl malware targets US and worldwide ICS/SCADA devices.
The State Department announced a reward of up to $10 million for information on an online persona known as Mr. Soul (or Mr. Soll) tied to CyberAv3ngers, which conducts malicious cyber activity for Iran's IRGC Cyber-Electronic Command. CyberAv3ngers used the IOControl malware against ICS/SCADA devices in the US, Israel and worldwide, targeting products from Unitronics, D-Link, Hikvision and Baicells, according to Claroty and Armis analyses. The malware allows remote control of infected devices and lateral movement within victim networks. The reward follows an August action offering rewards for and sanctioning six Iranian government hackers and comes amid the widening Israel-Iran military conflict.
The US offered $10 million for information on six IRGC-CEC officials behind CyberAv3ngers' 2023 hacks of Unitronics PLCs at US water utilities.
The State Department named six Iranian security officials, including IRGC Cyber-Electronic Command head Hamid Reza Lashgarian, and offered up to $10 million for information on their whereabouts. CyberAv3ngers publicly claimed compromises of Israel-made Unitronics Vision PLCs in October 2023, forcing the Municipal Water Authority of Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, to take systems offline and switch to manual operations. The US had sanctioned the six men in February for targeting critical infrastructure, and CISA notified water operators using Unitronics devices while urging default-password changes. A watchdog also criticized the EPA for lacking a comprehensive water-sector cyber risk strategy.
DOJ indicts 17 Iranians tied to Mabna Institute IRGC hacking-for-hire campaign that stole 31TB from universities, agencies, and UN organizations.
The U.S. Justice Department unsealed a 14-count superseding indictment charging 17 people linked to the Mabna Institute, allegedly operating on behalf of the IRGC, in a campaign running since around 2013. The group breached 144 US universities, 42 US companies, 178 foreign universities, 11 foreign companies, and agencies including the Department of Labor, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, and Hawaii and Indiana state governments, plus UN organizations such as UNICEF, stealing at least 31 terabytes of academic and proprietary data and about 8,000 professor email accounts. The State Department offered a $10 million reward for five individuals including Behzad Mesri, previously indicted for the $6 million HBO extortion; universities spent roughly $20 million on investigation and remediation.
Nozomi Networks recorded 28 Iran-linked attacks on US customers in May-June, up 133%, mostly hitting transportation and manufacturing.
Nozomi Networks telemetry showed 28 Iran-linked attacks against customers in May and June versus 12 in the prior two months, a 133% increase focused on transportation and manufacturing. MuddyWater was the most active group, targeting at least five US companies, followed by APT33 with at least three; OilRig, CyberAv3ngers, FoxKitten and Homeland Justice were also active. In a separate report, Morphisec said Fox Kitten is recruiting ransomware affiliates with an 80% share of proceeds for attacks against Iran's adversaries, including the US and Israel. The activity comes amid heightened concerns over Iranian cyber retaliation after US strikes on Iranian nuclear facilities.
Kaspersky attributes new cross-platform RATs NodeRabbit and PollCat to Iranian group Nimbus Manticore, spread via recruiter-themed LinkedIn lures.
Kaspersky links two previously undocumented malware families, NodeRabbit (Node.js) and PollCat (obfuscated JavaScript), to the Iranian threat actor Nimbus Manticore, also known as Iranian Dream Job. Victims in Afghanistan, Egypt, and Ethiopia received trojanized coding challenge archives containing fake npm packages (colorized_terminal, pretty-log) that silently launched the RATs as background processes. NodeRabbit contacts Azure-hosted C2 servers via checkin, task, and result API endpoints and supports 11 commands including shell execution, file operations, and network enumeration. Persistence is platform-specific: Windows Run keys or scheduled tasks, Linux cron entries, and macOS launch agents, impersonating Microsoft Edge updates or Intel's Driver & Support Assistant.
Kaspersky links Iranian espionage group Mirage Kitten to fake job offers delivering new NodeRabbit and PollCat malware at aviation and fintech targets.
Kaspersky attributes the campaign to Iran-linked Mirage Kitten (also tracked as UNC1549, Smoke Sandstorm and Nimbus Manticore), which targeted developers and specialists in Egypt, Ethiopia and Afghanistan via fake recruiter contacts on LinkedIn and job platforms. Victims were lured into running malicious coding assessments that deployed two previously unknown families: NodeRabbit, a cross-platform RAT for Windows, Linux and macOS, and PollCat, which provides persistence and delivers additional payloads. The group masks activity behind legitimate Microsoft Azure and Cloudflare infrastructure, sometimes embedding victim organization names in Azure subdomains. The group has been active since at least 2022, focusing on aviation, aerospace and financial technology sectors in Africa and the Middle East.
Netherlands proposed a bill granting AIVD and MIVD expanded warrantless tapping, faster hacking powers, and forced data disclosure, citing Russia, China, and Iran threats.
The Dutch government introduced a bill greatly expanding surveillance powers of intelligence agencies AIVD and MIVD, allowing up to one year of tapping without pre-approval and simplified hacking operations against 'foreign adversaries'. Agencies could compel Dutch companies or citizens to provide data under threat of charges, share data with the private sector, and oversight bodies would merge into a new CTT board. The bill follows similar overhauls in Ireland, Germany, and France after Russia's invasion of Ukraine. The newsletter also reports Moonwell hacked for $8.7M, a Cosmos EVM bug exploited for ~$3M, ShinyHunters listing McKesson with claimed hundreds of millions of records, and a pro-Kremlin DDoS claim against Norway's government network.
Trump executive order bans acquisition of foreign-made bulk-power system equipment over cyber backdoor and supply-chain concerns for US electricity infrastructure.
The White House issued an executive order declaring foreign-made bulk-power system electric equipment an "unusual and extraordinary threat," banning its acquisition or installation in the US. The order covers technology managing transmission lines rated at 69,000 volts or higher, substations, control rooms, power generating stations, reactors, and associated remotely accessible software and firmware. It follows recent cyberattacks on water utilities in at least 12 states, malicious activity targeting over 100 internet-exposed water and wastewater systems, and an NSA/FBI advisory on an AI-powered threat to operational technology. The Defense, Commerce, and Energy Departments have 120 days to create rules, identify countries warranting scrutiny, and inventory at-risk equipment.
Bitkom survey finds nearly 40% of attacked German companies attribute incidents to foreign intelligence services, mainly China and Russia, costing up to $240B.
A Bitkom survey of 1,003 German companies with at least 10 employees found nearly four in 10 firms hit by data theft, espionage, or sabotage attributed at least one incident to a foreign intelligence service, up from 28% last year and 7% in 2023. China was the most cited source, named by more than half of affected companies, followed by Russia and Iran at roughly one in ten. Bitkom estimated cyberattacks cost German businesses $186-240 billion over the past year, with ransomware the most common attack type, affecting one in four companies. Recent incidents cited include breaches at Lidl, billing provider Unimed, and the Dresden State Art Collections.
CISA urged water utilities to secure internet-exposed PLCs after July 2026 attacks compromised over 100 US water and wastewater systems, suspected Iran-linked.
CISA's exposure-reduction guidance, published August 21, follows July 2026 attacks in which threat actors remotely accessed PLCs connected directly through cellular modems, changed device IP addresses and passwords, and in some cases disabled alarms and shutdown processes without notifying operators. Iran is the suspected actor, though officials stopped short of formal attribution. CISA recommends routing remote access through centrally managed secure gateways, phishing-resistant MFA, unique credentials, and external scanning of industrial protocols such as Modbus, EtherNet/IP, DNP3, BACnet and OPC UA.
Bitdefender links seven RAT families, five previously undocumented, to China-nexus espionage actor SilkParasite using AI-assisted malware development against Central Asian governments.
A Bitdefender report attributes seven remote access tool families to a single actor dubbed SilkParasite, with medium confidence a China-nexus group targeting governments in Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan and Kazakhstan. The RATs are written in .NET, C++, Go and JavaScript, use C2 via Google Drive and protocols like HTTP, DNS and TCP, and employ modular plugin architectures with regular rotation of infrastructure, encryption material and persistence artifacts. Evidence of AI-assisted development includes leftover test functions, placeholder encryption keys, and GoginRAT and NomadRAT sharing a high-level architecture despite different languages, suggesting a specification implemented twice with AI. The newsletter also covers the US Operation Economic Outcast sanctioning six MOIS-linked Iranian hackers, including hands-on-keyboard operators who targeted US critical infrastructure.
Group-IB found Iran-linked Tortoiseshell expanding command-and-control infrastructure into the UK, Belgium, Saudi Arabia and the UAE with new malware tooling.
Group-IB researchers identified new Tortoiseshell command-and-control infrastructure, including servers named 'uk1' and 'uk2' hosted on UK IP addresses, plus systems in Belgium, Saudi Arabia and the UAE. The Iran-linked espionage group, active since at least 2018 and previously tied to the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps, has historically targeted defense, aerospace, technology and military organizations in the Middle East and the United States. Researchers also uncovered new malware samples, including a backdoor resembling TwoStroke that enables command execution, file theft and system reconnaissance, and a tool establishing reverse SSH tunnels to attacker-controlled servers. Group-IB assesses that the group is expanding both its geographic reach and its capabilities and ranks it among the most active Iranian APTs of 2026.
Group-IB found new infrastructure and TWOSTROKE-like malware used by IRGC-linked Nimbus Manticore, indicating expanded Middle East and Europe targeting.
Group-IB reported new Tortoiseshell infrastructure spanning Europe and the Middle East and two previously undocumented tools from IRGC-linked Nimbus Manticore (UNC1549): a reverse SSH tunneling utility connecting to 172.86.98.113 on port 443, and a C++ backdoor masquerading as wtsapi32.dll with three hard-coded C2 servers. The backdoor overlaps with TWOSTROKE and supports file transfer, execution, host information gathering, and persistence. Findings build on Kaspersky's report of the NightLedger backdoor and WebSocket tunnelers BridgeHead and ArcBridge, and suggest expanded targeting beyond the Middle East into Europe.
CISA says hackers targeted over 100 US water systems in July amid suspected Iran-backed attacks on critical water infrastructure.
CISA confirmed that hackers targeted more than 100 US water systems during July. The federal agency's warning comes amid a wave of suspected Iran-backed cyberattacks against critical water infrastructure across the United States. The available text does not specify intrusion methods, compromised utilities by name, or data impact.
U.S. Treasury sanctioned nearly 60 Iran-linked entities, including MOIS-affiliated Mabna Institute hackers behind breaches of U.S. critical infrastructure and millions in crypto theft.
The U.S. Treasury launched Operation Economic Outcast, designating nearly 60 Iran-linked entities, individuals, and vessels across nuclear, missile, oil, cyber, and digital asset networks. Five sanctioned individuals are members of the Tehran-based Mabna Institute indicted last week; three allegedly breached and exfiltrated data from U.S. energy, defense, healthcare, IT, and financial organizations since late 2023. TRM Labs traced roughly $16.8 million across 30 wallets tied to the members, and the State Department announced a reward of up to $10 million. The action follows Iranian hacking of FBI Director Kash Patel's email and attacks on over 30 U.S. water and wastewater utilities.
US Treasury sanctioned four Iranians linked to MOIS-directed hacks that compromised and exfiltrated data from US critical infrastructure, energy, defense, and financial targets.
The Treasury Department designated four Iranian individuals over alleged hacking and cybertheft against US companies in energy, defense, healthcare, IT, and financial sectors since at least late 2023, as part of an 'economic D-Day' sanctions package. It is the second action in weeks against the group, following an indictment of cybercriminals affiliated with Tehran's Mabna Institute; leadership includes Behzad Mesri, first sanctioned in 2018, and the attacks are described as directed by the Ministry of Intelligence and Security (MOIS). Treasury also expanded secondary-sanction categories across digital assets, technology, gold, aviation, and shipping, and noted some group members pursued personal enrichment, including targeting Iranian companies.
US sanctions individuals tied to Iranian hacking-for-hire group the Mabna Institute over cyber-attacks.
The United States has imposed sanctions on individuals connected to the Mabna Institute, an Iran-based hacking-for-hire group. The move targets the actors behind Iranian cyber-attack operations. Sanctions are a government enforcement action rather than a new technical threat.
US Treasury sanctioned six Iranian MOIS-linked hackers for breaching US agency and UN email accounts as the UK disclosed a four-day power plant shutdown.
The US Treasury sanctioned at least six Iranian nationals tied to a hacking team inside Iran's Ministry of Intelligence and Security (MOIS) active since 2023; four were indicted last week for breaching employee email accounts at the Department of Labor, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and United Nations organizations. Treasury said the group compromised energy, defense, healthcare, IT and financial sector targets, multiple US government offices in summer 2024, and stole cryptocurrency for personal gain. Separately, Iranian actors reportedly shut down a small British power plant for four days without grid impact, days after FBI and NSA warned of hackers targeting programmable logic controllers in energy, water and agriculture.
A cyber-attack attributed to Iran shut down a UK power plant, exposing the frailty of critical national infrastructure, security experts warn.
Security experts say an Iranian cyber-attack forced a UK power plant offline, describing the incident as a wake-up call for critical national infrastructure operators. The attack caused physical operational disruption at an energy facility. Technical details about the intrusion path and the affected operator remain limited in initial reporting.
Suspected Iranian hackers knocked a small UK power plant offline for four days in July 2026, with no noticeable impact on the national grid.
Sources told The Telegraph that a British power plant was offline for four days in July 2026 following a suspected Iranian cyberattack, reported to the National Cyber Security Centre. The UK energy minister said the incident affected a small-scale energy generator with no noticeable effect on the power supply, and energy CEOs were briefed and given further advice afterward. The attack followed warnings about Iranian cyber activity against US energy, water, and government networks, including a coordinated attack on 30+ US community water utilities.
Week in review: Medusa ransomware hit 500+ orgs per CISA, millions of Azure tenant records allegedly stolen, SafePal and French tax authority breaches disclosed.
Help Net Security's weekly roundup covers the FBI, CISA, and HHS joint advisory update reporting Medusa ransomware has breached more than 500 organizations since June 2021, and threat actor TheHatman's claim of millions of employee records stolen from Azure tenants of Fortune 500 firms including McDonald's, Vodafone, Kyndryl, and Tata Consultancy Services, per Hudson Rock. It also covers the SafePal breach affecting 39,798 customers, France's DGFiP breach exposing data on 678,000 individuals, and UT San delaying its fall semester after a cyberattack. Security items include critical unauthenticated GitLab flaw CVE-2026-19478, an actively exploited patched macOS Screen Sharing flaw deploying a cryptominer, US charges against 17 Mabna Institute Iranian hackers over 31TB of stolen academic data, and Google Mandiant's AI agents finding 100+ high-severity vulnerabilities.
Hacker News ThreatsDay roundup: Defender BTR.sys driver abuse, DoJ charges 17 Mabna Institute members over IRGC-linked intrusions, Grandoreiro sideloading, OpenAI monitoring.
Check Point researchers showed Microsoft's signed Defender Boot-Time Removal driver (BTR.sys) can be repurposed as a universal kernel operation engine to bypass endpoint security without BYOVD. The DoJ charged 17 members of Iran's Mabna Institute, which on behalf of the IRGC stole over 31 TB of academic data from 144 US universities and compromised roughly 8,000 of 100,000 targeted professor accounts; the State Department offered a $10 million reward for five defendants. Separately, Acronis tracked a Grandoreiro campaign abusing DLL sideloading in the Duplicate Files Finder app across Latin America and Spain, while ErrTraffic ClickFix campaigns deliver Cruciferra (BYOVD) and Remus Stealer. OpenAI also previewed Private Safety Processing, a privacy-centric approach to monitoring model misuse without retaining customer content.
NSA, CISA, FBI, DOE and EPA warn hackers are using AI-generated scripts to actively attack Siemens S7 PLCs across critical-infrastructure sectors.
A joint cybersecurity advisory from the NSA, CISA, FBI, Department of Energy and EPA warns of an active threat campaign targeting water, food, energy, chemical, manufacturing and commercial facilities via Siemens S7 Series programmable logic controllers. The actors use internet scanning to find exposed or poorly protected PLCs, then deploy AI-generated exploitation scripts disguised as legitimate monitoring tools, an OT first that dramatically lowers the expertise required for ICS attacks. Siemens says no new S7 vulnerabilities are involved, only exploitation of misconfigurations, and it is coordinating with CISA's ProductCERT. The warning follows a joint FBI-EPA advisory confirming attacks at water and wastewater utilities in at least 12 states since July 27.
US unsealed superseding indictment charging 17 Mabna Institute Iranians for IRGC-linked espionage stealing 31TB from universities, companies, and government agencies.
The Justice Department unsealed a superseding indictment charging 17 members of the Iran-based Mabna Institute, which conducted hacking campaigns since at least 2013 on behalf of the IRGC and other Iranian clients. The group compromised 144 US and 178 foreign universities, at least 42 US companies, and multiple government agencies, stealing over 31 terabytes of academic data and IP plus employee email inboxes. Hackers breached roughly 8,000 of 100,000 targeted professor accounts across 24 countries, selling stolen research through Megapaper.ir and Gigapaper.ir. Behzad Mesri, tied to the HBO breach and $6 million Bitcoin extortion, is among eight new defendants, and five defendants carry State Department Rewards for Justice bounties up to $10 million.
NSA, CISA, FBI, DOE, and EPA warn threat actors use AI-assisted scripts and snap7 libraries to access internet-exposed Siemens S7 PLCs in critical infrastructure sectors.
NSA, CISA, FBI, DOE, and EPA issued a joint advisory warning that threat actors combine open-source snap7.dll/python-snap7 libraries with AI-generated scripts to gain read/write access to Siemens S7-200 through S7-1500 PLCs over the S7comm protocol. Actors use Censys and ZoomEye to find internet-exposed devices and abuse default or weak credentials, with activity assessed as persistent reconnaissance and positioning for future write operations. Agencies urge device inventory, patching, removing PLCs from the internet, and hardening; the pattern resembles Iran-linked CyberAv3ngers targeting of Rockwell, Schneider, and Siemens PLCs.
US indicts 17 Iranian Mabna Institute hackers who stole 31TB of academic data from universities, companies, and agencies via spearphishing.
The US Department of Justice charged 17 alleged Mabna Institute members, adding eight defendants to the nine charged in 2018, for a 2013-2017 campaign largely conducted for Iran's Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps. The group stole over 31TB of academic data and intellectual property from 144 US and 178 foreign universities, at least 42 US companies, and at least five federal and state agencies, compromising about 8,000 of 100,000 spearphished professor email accounts. US universities spent roughly $3.4 billion procuring the stolen data; one defendant also hacked HBO and sought about $6 million in bitcoin ransom. The State Department offers up to $10 million for information on five defendants, none of whom are in US custody.
CISA added four critical actively exploited flaws to KEV: macOS Screen Sharing, SharePoint, VMware vCenter, and Microsoft IKE, with APT and ransomware use.
CISA added CVE-2026-65400 (macOS Screen Sharing, CVSS 9.8), CVE-2026-55040 (SharePoint, CVSS 9.1), CVE-2026-59310 (VMware vCenter, CVSS 9.8) and CVE-2026-33824 (Microsoft IKE Service Extensions, CVSS 9.8) to the KEV catalog. The macOS flaw was abused to deliver a Monero miner, while the vCenter bug was exploited by a suspected China-nexus APT to install reverse_ssh backdoors and Babuk-derived ransomware across 361 victim IPs in 47 countries. Unit 42 linked CVE-2026-33824 to a Chinese-speaking actor running an AI-enabled campaign using DeepSeek. FCEB agencies must patch by August 21, 2026 under BOD 26-04.
US prosecutors unsealed a superseding indictment charging 17 Iranians in the Mabna Institute's state-sponsored theft of 31.5 terabytes from universities and companies.
The superseding indictment unsealed in the Southern District of New York charges 17 people affiliated with Tehran's Mabna Institute, adding eight defendants to the 2018 indictment of nine. The institute allegedly compromised over 100,000 professor email accounts worldwide, including 8,000 accounts at 144 US universities, and stole at least 31.5 terabytes of academic journals, dissertations, and e-books. US universities spent approximately $3.4 billion procuring the stolen data, and victims also included at least five federal and state agencies, 42 US companies, and 11 foreign companies including HBO. The State Department's Rewards for Justice program is offering up to $10 million for information on four of the defendants.
Kaspersky details Iranian Cavern Manticore's expanded C2 framework using DNS and Google Apps Script, plus APT42's TAMECAT spyware in nuclear-sector phishing.
Kaspersky reported new components in the Cavern (Cav3rn) C2 framework, used by Iranian MOIS-affiliated Cavern Manticore (with overlaps to MuddyWater and OilRig's Lyceum) against Israeli entities, monitored since December 2025. The new GoogleService.dll module performs DNS A-record queries to choose between direct HTTPS and a Google Apps Script relay per transaction, with the DNS infrastructure able to rotate the Google deployment ID; Kaspersky also found an inter-component broker (rnp.dll) and linked the framework's plugin-based pivot to late April 2026. Separately, Group-IB and Kaspersky detailed HOLLOWGRAPH, a .NET NativeAOT DLL first seen in the wild June 7, 2026, that uses Microsoft 365 calendar events via the Graph API as two-way dead drops dated May 13, 2050, with DNS tunneling refreshing Entra ID credentials. DarkAtlas also reported APT42's TAMECAT modular surveillance framework delivered via LNK masquerading as PDFs in spear-phishing targeting the nuclear energy sector in April-May 2026, with the group using generative AI to accelerate operations.
Unauthenticated Path Traversal RCE in Broadcom VMware vCenter Server Syslog
CVE-2026-59310 is a directory traversal (CWE-22) vulnerability in the Syslog server component of VMware vCenter Server, rated critical at CVSS 9.8. It can be triggered over the network without authentication or user interaction, allowing a malicious actor with network access to vCenter to achieve arbitrary code execution. An attacker who exploits it gains code execution on the vCenter appliance, and reported campaigns show it has been used to establish persistent remote access and, by a suspected China-nexus actor, to deploy Babuk ransomware. Any organization running an affected version of vCenter Server is exposed, especially where the management interface is reachable from the internet; the available data does not specify affected version ranges. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: CISA added the flaw to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18, it was reportedly exploited just five days after disclosure, and EPSS estimates a 45.9% probability of exploitation within 30 days (99th percentile).
· Broadcom (VMware) vCenter Server KEV ransomwarelarge
VMware vCenter contains an authentication bypass vulnerability in the VMware Directory Service.
VMware vCenter contains an authentication bypass vulnerability in the VMware Directory Service. A malicious actor with network access to vCenter may exploit this issue to bypass authentication and gain unauthorized access to the system.
Authentication Bypass in Apple macOS Screen Sharing
CVE-2026-65400 is a critical (CVSS 9.8) improper authentication flaw (CWE-287) in Apple macOS's Screen Sharing service, caused by an authentication state-management defect. An attacker who can reach a vulnerable Mac's Screen Sharing service over the network can authenticate without valid credentials, gaining full remote access with high impact to confidentiality, integrity, and availability. All three currently supported macOS branches are affected: Sequoia, Sonoma, and Tahoe, in versions prior to the fixed releases. The flaw is being actively exploited on the internet, with public reporting that attackers use the bypass to deploy Monero cryptominers, and CISA added it to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18. EPSS estimates a 9.9% probability of exploitation within 30 days (95th percentile).
· Apple macOS (Screen Sharing service) supported macOS releases prior to the fixed builds listed below · Apple macOS Sequoia all versions prior to 15.7.9 KEVmass
Unauthenticated Double-Free RCE in Microsoft Windows IKE Extension
A double-free memory-corruption flaw (CWE-415) in the Microsoft Windows Internet Key Exchange (IKE) service extension allows a remote, unauthenticated attacker to trigger the bug with crafted network traffic, with no privileges or user interaction required. Successful exploitation yields remote code execution with full system impact, reflected in the critical 9.8 CVSS score (high confidentiality, integrity, and availability). The vulnerable IKE component is present in Windows 10 (1607, 1809, 21H2, 22H2), Windows 11 (23H2, 24H2, 25H2, 26H1), and Windows Server 2016, 2019, and 2022 (including 23H2), which ship it as a built-in feature. CISA added the flaw to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18, and security reporting confirms it is being actively exploited in the wild, though ransomware use is not yet confirmed. No public proof-of-concept is known, but the high EPSS score (72.7%, 99th percentile) signals a very strong likelihood of imminent or ongoing exploitation.
· Microsoft Windows 10 1607 · Microsoft Windows 10 1809 KEVmass
Authentication Bypass in Microsoft SharePoint Server
Microsoft SharePoint Server is affected by a weak authentication vulnerability (CWE-1390) that allows an unauthorized attacker to bypass a security feature over a network. Per the CVSS vector, exploitation requires no privileges and no user interaction with low attack complexity, so any unauthenticated attacker with network access to a vulnerable server can trigger it remotely. Impact to confidentiality and integrity is rated high (CVSS 9.1, critical), meaning the bypass effectively grants the attacker access that authentication should have prevented, with no direct availability impact. All organizations running on-premises Microsoft SharePoint Server are potentially affected; the source data does not specify affected version ranges or fixed builds, so defenders should consult Microsoft's advisory for those details. The flaw is under active exploitation: a public proof-of-concept is available on GitHub, attackers began exploiting it after the PoC went public, and CISA added it to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18 (EPSS ~40%, 99th percentile; ransomware association unknown).
The Super Forms – Drag & Drop Form Builder plugin for WordPress is vulnerable to Arbitrary File Upload in all versions up to, and including, 6.3.313 via the sub
The Super Forms – Drag & Drop Form Builder plugin for WordPress is vulnerable to Arbitrary File Upload in all versions up to, and including, 6.3.313 via the submit_form function. This is due to missing file type validation and the absence of any capability check on the submit_form nopriv AJAX handler, whose only barrier is a session nonce freely obtainable by unauthenticated visitors via a separate nopriv endpoint. This makes it possible for unauthenticated attackers to upload files that may be executable, which makes remote code execution possible. The nonce requirement is trivially bypassed…
Unauthenticated GraphQL Code Injection in GitLab CE/EE Enables Data Tampering
GitLab has patched a critical (CVSS 9.1) code injection flaw (CWE-94) in how GitLab Community Edition (CE) and Enterprise Edition (EE) process GraphQL directives. Under certain conditions, an unauthenticated remote attacker can abuse a GraphQL directive to modify or delete public projects and user data on affected instances, requiring no privileges or user interaction; the impact is to integrity and availability, not confidentiality. Affected versions span all GitLab CE/EE releases from 18.2 before 18.11.11, 19.0 before 19.0.8, 19.1 before 19.1.6, and 19.2 before 19.2.4, which covers self-managed installations as well as the same codebase that powers the GitLab.com SaaS. News reports indicate the flaw came under active exploitation within days of disclosure, and EPSS assigns a 5.8% probability of exploitation within 30 days (93rd percentile). It is not yet listed in CISA's KEV catalog and no public proof-of-concept is known, but defenders should treat it as an actively exploited, unauthenticated, high-impact issue.
· GitLab CE all versions from 18.2 before 18.11.11, 19.0 before 19.0.8, 19.1 before 19.1.6, and 19.2 before 19.2.4 · GitLab EE all versions from 18.2 before 18.11.11, 19.0 before 19.0.8, 19.1 before 19.1.6, and 19.2 before 19.2.4mass
Entities are extracted by the model from each article. Watching an entity keeps it in this browser only (no account); the watchlist page and dashboard alerts use it.