CISA Flags Langflow RCE, Tomcat, and N
Vulnerabilities mentionedAll →
| CVE | Vulnerability | CVSS | EPSS | Flags | Affected | Exposure | Published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CVE-2026-18556 | Authentication Bypass (Alternate Path/Channel) in N-able N-central N-able's N-central RMM platform contains an authentication bypass (CWE-288) in which an alternate path or channel allows requests to skip the normal authentication check. An unauthenticated attacker can trigger it by sending requests through that alternate path without valid credentials, gaining unauthorized access to the N-central management interface; because N-central is remote monitoring and management software run by managed service providers, such access can expose management functions across downstream customer environments. N-able N-central deployments are affected; the available data does not specify affected version ranges or fixed builds. The flaw was added to CISA's Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-04, confirming exploitation in the wild, with a high EPSS of 40.2% (99th percentile), no CVSS score yet, no public PoC, and undetermined ransomware use; related reporting describes a recent string of N-central hotfixes, including fixes for unauthenticated remote code execution. Do: Apply N-able's hotfix for N-central immediately per the vendor's instructions, since the flaw is in CISA KEV and BOD 26-04 applies (for cloud-hosted N-central, apply mitigations per BOD 26-04 or discontinue use if mitigations are unavailable). Until patched, restrict internet exposure of the N-central server to trusted management networks and review authentication logs for unexpected access, following CISA's forensics triage guidance. Check the vendor advisory for the exact fixed build, as the available data does not list affected or fixed version numbers. | 8.2 | 40% | KEV |
| largeon the order of tens of thousands of N-central server instances (estimate; exact counts not in available data) | |
| CVE-2026-18577 | Authentication Bypass and Account Takeover in N-able N-central (Incomplete Patch) CVE-2026-18577 is an authentication bypass (CWE-288) in N-able's N-central RMM platform caused by an incomplete patch for the earlier vulnerability CVE-2026-18556. Because the original fix can be bypassed via an alternate path or channel, a remote, unauthenticated attacker needs no privileges or user interaction, though the attack requires meeting exploit-specific conditions (high attack complexity, CVSS 4.0: 8.2 High). Successful exploitation lets the attacker bypass authentication and take over N-central accounts, gaining high-impact access to the management console with limited direct effects on downstream services. All N-central versions through 2026.3.1 are affected. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: the flaw was added to CISA's KEV on 2026-08-03, EPSS estimates a 54.1% chance of exploitation within 30 days (99th percentile), and news reports say attackers kept exploiting it even as N-able shipped successive hotfixes; ransomware use is currently unknown. Do: Upgrade N-central to a fixed release or hotfix newer than 2026.3.1 following N-able's advisory — the vendor has issued multiple successive hotfixes for this and related N-central flaws, so verify you are on the latest build. Because the flaw is on CISA's KEV, federal and BOD 26-04-bound organizations must apply vendor mitigations promptly or discontinue use of the product if patching is unavailable. Limit internet exposure of N-central portals and review accounts for signs of takeover or unauthorized access. | 8.2 | 54% | KEV |
| moderate≈1,000–10,000 internet-exposed N-central server instances (estimate from public internet scans; total on-prem deployments likely higher, with millions of… | |
| CVE-2026-3055 | Out-of-Bounds Read in Citrix NetScaler ADC and Gateway When Used as SAML IDP CVE-2026-3055 is an out-of-bounds read (CWE-125) in Citrix NetScaler ADC and NetScaler Gateway caused by insufficient input validation when the appliance is configured as a SAML Identity Provider (IDP). An unauthenticated remote attacker can trigger the flaw by sending crafted input to the SAML IDP functionality, causing the appliance to read beyond the bounds of allocated memory and potentially disclose sensitive information from it. The CVSS 4.0 base score of 9.3 (critical) reflects a network-vector flaw requiring no privileges or user interaction. Only organizations running NetScaler ADC or NetScaler Gateway appliances with SAML IDP configured are affected, according to the available data. The flaw was added to CISA's Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-03-30, carries an 87.2% EPSS probability of exploitation within 30 days, has a public proof-of-concept, and headlines indicate active reconnaissance and exploitation against NetScaler deployments, including federal patch directives. Do: Apply the patched NetScaler ADC and NetScaler Gateway releases from Citrix's advisory as soon as possible, prioritizing internet-facing appliances (exact fixed version numbers are not in this data; check the vendor bulletin). Determine whether SAML IDP is configured on your appliances and, if it is not needed, disable or unbind it as an interim mitigation while reviewing appliance logs for suspicious authentication or reconnaissance traffic. Federal agencies must follow the CISA required action and BOD 22-01 guidance, with CISA directing patching by the stated Thursday deadline. | 9.3 | 87% | KEV PoC |
| largetens of thousands of internet-exposed NetScaler ADC/Gateway appliances, with the directly exposed subset limited to those configured as SAML IDPs | |
| CVE-2026-33017 | Unauthenticated RCE in Langflow AI Workflow Builder CVE-2026-33017 is an unauthenticated remote code execution flaw in Langflow, an open-source tool for building and deploying AI-powered agents and workflows. The POST /api/v1/build_public_tmp/{flow_id}/flow endpoint, which by design requires no authentication for building public flows, accepts an optional data parameter; when present, attacker-controlled flow data — including arbitrary Python code embedded in node definitions — is used instead of the flow stored in the database and passed to exec() with no sandboxing. An attacker who can reach this endpoint on an affected instance can therefore execute arbitrary Python code without any credentials, typically yielding full compromise of the underlying server. All Langflow versions prior to 1.9.0 are affected; the issue was fixed in 1.9.0 and is distinct from CVE-2025-3248, which only added authentication to the /api/v1/validate/code endpoint. The flaw was added to CISA's KEV catalog on 2026-03-25 (confirming exploitation in the wild), carries a 96.2% EPSS probability of exploitation within 30 days, and related reporting describes Langflow RCE attacks, including ransomware activity targeting AI model files. Do: Upgrade all Langflow deployments to 1.9.0 or later. If immediate patching is not possible, keep Langflow off direct internet exposure (place it behind an authenticating reverse proxy or firewall) and review logs for unauthenticated POST requests to /api/v1/build_public_tmp/{flow_id}/flow that include a data parameter, which would indicate exploitation attempts. As a KEV entry, federal agencies must apply mitigations per vendor guidance and BOD 22-01, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. | 9.3 | 96% | KEV PoC ×4 |
| moderateon the order of several thousand internet-exposed Langflow instances (estimate) | |
| CVE-2026-33824 | Unauthenticated Double-Free RCE in Microsoft Windows IKE Extension A double-free memory-corruption flaw (CWE-415) in the Microsoft Windows Internet Key Exchange (IKE) service extension allows a remote, unauthenticated attacker to trigger the bug with crafted network traffic, with no privileges or user interaction required. Successful exploitation yields remote code execution with full system impact, reflected in the critical 9.8 CVSS score (high confidentiality, integrity, and availability). The vulnerable IKE component is present in Windows 10 (1607, 1809, 21H2, 22H2), Windows 11 (23H2, 24H2, 25H2, 26H1), and Windows Server 2016, 2019, and 2022 (including 23H2), which ship it as a built-in feature. CISA added the flaw to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-18, and security reporting confirms it is being actively exploited in the wild, though ransomware use is not yet confirmed. No public proof-of-concept is known, but the high EPSS score (72.7%, 99th percentile) signals a very strong likelihood of imminent or ongoing exploitation. Do: Apply Microsoft's security updates for CVE-2026-33824 to all affected Windows 10, Windows 11, and Windows Server releases, prioritizing internet-exposed systems where IKE/VPN is reachable (UDP 500/4500), per BOD 26-04 requirements. Organizations unable to patch promptly should restrict or discontinue use of exposed IKE/VPN services on affected hosts until updated. Triage VPN endpoints and remote-access servers for crashes or suspicious IKE traffic given confirmed in-the-wild exploitation. | 9.8 | 73% | KEV |
| masswell over 1B Windows devices include the built-in IKE extension; internet-exposed VPN/IKE endpoints plausibly number in the hundreds of thousands | |
| CVE-2026-34486 | EncryptInterceptor Bypass Exposes Cluster Traffic in Apache Tomcat CVE-2026-34486 is a missing-encryption vulnerability in Apache Tomcat in which the EncryptInterceptor, the component that encrypts Tomcat cluster communication, can be bypassed in a fail-open manner; the flaw was introduced as a regression by the fix for CVE-2026-29146. It affects Tomcat 11.0.20, 10.1.53 and 9.0.116, and is triggered when cluster communication is expected to be encrypted: an attacker positioned on the network path between cluster nodes receives inter-node traffic in cleartext. By reading that unencrypted traffic, the attacker can obtain sensitive data such as session payloads, potentially enabling session theft and authentication bypass as indicated by related reporting. Only deployments running the affected point releases with the EncryptInterceptor in use are impacted, including Tomcat shipped in Red Hat JBoss Web Server and Red Hat Enterprise Linux channels. The flaw is being actively exploited: CISA added it to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-04, EPSS places 30-day exploitation probability at 98.6%, though no public proof-of-concept is known and ransomware use is unconfirmed. Do: Upgrade Apache Tomcat to 11.0.21, 10.1.54 or 9.0.117, and apply the corresponding Red Hat JBoss Web Server / Enterprise Linux updates when published. Audit Tomcat cluster configurations for EncryptInterceptor usage, and until patched restrict or encrypt the network segment carrying inter-node cluster traffic. Because the flaw is in CISA's KEV catalog, federal agencies must patch per BOD 26-04 timelines and should review cluster nodes for signs of session data interception. | 7.5 | 99% | KEV |
| largetens of thousands of Tomcat deployments on the affected point releases | |
| CVE-2026-39987 | Unauthenticated Remote Code Execution in Marimo Python Notebook Marimo, a reactive Python notebook, contains an unauthenticated remote code execution flaw (CVE-2026-39987, CWE-306; CVSS 4.0: 9.3 Critical) because its terminal WebSocket endpoint /terminal/ws skips authentication entirely. Unlike other WebSocket endpoints such as /ws, which call validate_auth(), /terminal/ws only checks the running mode and platform support before accepting connections, so any unauthenticated attacker who can reach the server can obtain a full PTY shell and execute arbitrary system commands on the host. All marimo deployments running versions prior to 0.23.0 are affected, with internet-exposed instances at greatest risk. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: the flaw was added to CISA's KEV catalog on 2026-04-23, public PoCs exist, and reporting shows it was exploited within roughly 10 hours of disclosure, with observed post-exploitation activity involving LLM agents. EPSS assigns a 98.9% probability of exploitation within 30 days (100th percentile). Do: Upgrade marimo to 0.23.0 or later; until patched, restrict access to the /terminal/ws WebSocket endpoint by binding the notebook to localhost, a VPN, or an authenticating reverse proxy. Identify whether any marimo instances are internet-exposed and review logs for connections to /terminal/ws and unexpected shell or process spawns, given reports of LLM-agent-driven post-exploitation on compromised instances. As a KEV entry (added 2026-04-23), this requires federal agencies to apply the vendor fix or mitigations per BOD 22-01 timelines. | 9.3 | 99% | KEV PoC ×4 |
| moderatelikely tens of thousands of users, with directly internet-exposed marimo servers plausibly in the low thousands | |
| CVE-2026-41940 | Missing-Authentication Bypass in WebPros cPanel & WHM (AuthBypass to RCE) CVE-2026-41940 is a critical missing-authentication flaw (CWE-306) in the login flow of WebPros cPanel & WHM (versions after 11.40) and WP2 (WordPress Squared) that lets unauthenticated remote attackers bypass authentication and gain unauthorized access to the control panel. Because no privileges, user interaction, or special conditions are required, any attacker who can reach the login endpoint over the network can attempt it. Beyond control-panel account takeover, public proofs of concept — including watchTowr's 'AuthBypass to RCE' exploit — show the flaw can be chained to remote code execution, and reporting indicates a single hosting customer could obtain root control of an entire shared server. Any hosting provider, MSP, reseller, or organization running cPanel/WHM or WP Squared is affected; cPanel is the dominant commercial hosting control panel, implying a very large installed base of shared-hosting servers and hosted domains. Exploitation is confirmed in the wild: CISA added it to the KEV on 2026-04-30 with known ransomware use, EPSS assigns a 98.5% probability of exploitation within 30 days (100th percentile), and multiple threat actors are actively exploiting it, including against government and MSP networks. Do: Patch immediately per WebPros' advisory — the source data does not specify fixed version numbers, so follow vendor instructions for exact patched releases; CISA KEV/BOD 22-01 requires federal agencies to apply mitigations or discontinue use by the stated deadline (reported as Sunday). Until patched, restrict access to the cPanel/WHM login interface (IP allowlisting, VPN, or limiting management-interface exposure) and hunt for indicators of compromise such as unexpected control-panel logins, new admin accounts, webshells, or ransomware artifacts. The referenced public PoCs can be used to validate whether your instances are exploitable. | 9.3 | 99% | KEV ransomware PoC ×4 |
| mass≈100,000+ internet-exposed cPanel/WHM servers, spanning tens of millions of hosted domains and millions of end users | |
| CVE-2026-9198 | Unauthenticated RCE Chain in IBM Langflow OSS 1.0.0-1.10.0 IBM Langflow OSS 1.0.0 through 1.10.0 contains an unauthenticated code-injection flaw (CWE-94) that can be chained into full remote code execution. An attacker with network access first calls /api/v1/auto_login, which mints a SUPERUSER token to any caller without authentication, then calls /api/v1/validate/code, which executes attacker-supplied code via exec() on the Langflow host. Successful exploitation yields full control of the affected deployment, with high impact on confidentiality, integrity, and availability (CVSS 3.1: 9.8, network-exploitable with no privileges or user interaction required). Anyone running IBM Langflow OSS 1.0.0-1.10.0 is affected, especially default deployments reachable from untrusted networks. CISA added the flaw to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-08-04, confirming active exploitation; EPSS estimates a 60.6% probability of exploitation within 30 days (99th percentile), and ransomware use is unknown. Do: Upgrade IBM Langflow OSS to a release newer than 1.10.0 per IBM's ([email protected]) security advisory, as required under CISA's BOD 26-04 guidance for KEV entries; if mitigations are unavailable, discontinue use of the product per BOD 26-04. Until patched, restrict network access to the /api/v1/auto_login and /api/v1/validate/code endpoints (e.g., firewall rules or reverse-proxy controls) and avoid exposing the instance directly to the internet. Because exploitation is confirmed, review access logs for requests to these endpoints and signs of unauthenticated SUPERUSER token issuance or unexpected code execution. | 9.8 | 61% | KEV |
| largelikely tens of thousands of self-hosted or internet-exposed deployments (estimate) |
Full article733 words · extracted from thehackernews.com · click to collapse
The U.S. Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA), on August 5, 2026, added three flaws to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities (KEV) catalog, citing evidence of active exploitation in the wild.
The list of vulnerabilities is as follows -
- CVE-2026-9198 (CVSS score: 9.8) - A code injection vulnerability in Langflow that allows unauthenticated attackers to achieve full remote code execution on default Langflow deployments. (Fixed in July 2026 with version 1.10.1)
- CVE-2026-34486 (CVS score: 7.5) - A missing encryption of sensitive data vulnerability in Apache Tomcat that allows a bypass of EncryptInterceptor, a cluster component that adds pre-shared key encryption to messages sent between cluster nodes. (Fixed in April 2026 with versions 11.0.21, 10.1.54, and 9.0.117)
Also added to the KEV catalog is CVE-2026-18556 (CVSS score: 8.2), an authentication bypass vulnerability in N-able N-central. It's worth noting that an incomplete fix for this issue prompted N-able to issue a fresh patch, which is tracked as CVE-2026-18577 (CVSS score: 8.2).
While CVE-2026-18577 was placed in the KEV catalog on Monday, the latest development signals that both vulnerabilities are being exploited by threat actors.
There are currently no details on how the Langflow flaw is being exploited. However, security defects in the open-source artificial intelligence (AI) application development platform have been repeatedly weaponized by bad actors in recent months.
Telemetry data from KEVIntel shows that 650 exploitation attempts against CVE-2026-9198 have been recorded starting July 6, 2026, from 244 unique attacker IP addresses from 41 countries.
The exploitation of CVE-2026-34486, on the other hand, has been attributed to an AI-enabled autonomous hacking campaign orchestrated by a Chinese-speaking threat actor operating under the aliases knaithe and KnYuan. The threat actor, based in Zhuhai, China, is said to have leveraged DeepSeek, via the Hermes Agent framework, as an offensive operator to target internet-exposed devices.
When initial attempts to exploit a Langflow flaw (CVE-2026-33017, CVSS 9.8) breach failed due to the target environment's restrictive configurations, the AI agent is said to have conducted autonomous research to identify other higher-value vulnerabilities, including flaws in n8n, to find a way in.
Separately, the Chinese-speaking adversary has been found conducting manual operations using known vulnerabilities in Citrix NetScaler (CVE-2026-3055), Marimo (CVE-2026-39987), Apache Tomcat (CVE-2026-34486), and IKE VPN (CVE-2026-33824) endpoints.
"This actor attempted to exploit over 460 targets, leveraging a mix of autonomous and manual techniques," Palo Alto Networks Unit 42 said. "What's interesting is that the actor appeared to allow DeepSeek to narrow the targeting scope, likely to conserve AI compute."
"This autonomous process of target identification, sampling and narrowing of scope is notable because the system executed hundreds of hours of manual targeting analysis in mere minutes, while also managing its own compute resources."
CVE-2026-34486 has also been weaponized in attacks mounted by a China-nexus threat actor targeting government and commercial infrastructure across more than 100 countries to deliver SNOWLIGHT, a lightweight, C-based Linux dropper and loader. The campaign is assessed to have taken place between late April and early June 2026.
The activity was discovered by SOCRadar following an analysis of an exposed adversary-operated staging server containing reconnaissance lists, nine weaponized CVEs, a cracked Chinese version of Cobalt Strike dubbed GoCobaltStrike, tunneling tooling, and other payloads.
"The toolkit comprises a purpose-built reconnaissance pipeline, eleven distinct exploit chains, two tunneling tools, and four C2/RAT/malware families, including a verified SNOWLIGHT instance," the cybersecurity company said. "These components were primarily assembled using public GitHub proof-of-concepts, alongside one pirated commercial C2 product and a single instance of a tracked, named malware family."
The threat actors have been found to exploit nine distinct CVEs to breach 107 endpoints, including 16 root-level cPanel/WHM takeovers (CVE-2026-41940) and one Domain Admin-level compromise via ProxyShell.
"The campaign demonstrates a highly opportunistic and automated 'spray-and-check' tactical model employed by China-nexus threat actors to compromise a broad spectrum of global government and commercial infrastructure," SOCRadar noted.
"By leveraging a centralized, multi-platform attack infrastructure (including cracked Cobalt-Strike derivatives and a sophisticated loader ecosystem) these operators have successfully achieved high-impact takeovers across more than 100 countries."
Federal Civilian Executive Branch (FCEB) agencies have until August 7, 2026, to apply the necessary fixes and safeguard their networks from active threats.
(The story was updated after publication on August 8, 2026, to include details of exploitation attempts targeting CVE-2026-9198.)
Found this article interesting? Follow us on Google News, Twitter and LinkedIn to read more exclusive content we post.
Text extracted automatically; images, tables and formatting may be missing. Original: https://thehackernews.com/2026/08/cisa-flags-langflow-rce-tomcat-and-n.html